Music – What are we Really Listening to?

I was in the gym changing room when I took a moment to stop and listen to what was being played through the speakers; it was along the lines of “if you love me, come and get your fill”. Hmmmm… definitely not a love song by my standards, and certainly not what I would want to hear from someone I loved or who loved me. I’ve learned that love can only be something that truly comes from within me first, not from anyone else filling me up: believe me I’ve tried it, and looking outside myself for love simply doesn’t work.

Hearing this song made me stop, and think; what are we really listening to?

As I listened I felt in my body the hardness of the song; it actually hurt my body to hear the music. I could feel it in my chest, and the words became so clear, in the sense they were not loving at all, keeping us in the belief that love is something we find outside ourselves. Even the lyrics were not honoring of women or men at all.

I decided to conduct a little experiment: I chose to observe music for the week, just to feel what is really going on. Music is everywhere, 24 hours a day, non-stop: in the supermarket, clothes store, the gym or in the car whilst getting a lift to work, even the kids put their earphones in when moving from class to class at school. The more I observed and listened, the more I became aware of how music imposes on us and just how harming it can be without us even realising.

Sometimes I could feel like it was trying to hook me in – all the stories, emotions and need, other times it was more the actual tone of the voice or the sound of the instrument that actually hurt my body to hear; my chest would tighten, my head hurt, or I’d actually physically wince at the sound. I found when I listened to my body it spoke to me loud and clear.

Looking back I remember being little and reacting to music that didn’t feel right by hiding behind the couch when a certain person and song came on the TV, or shouting ‘stop’ at the radio in the car, and getting into trouble as my sister whacked on the brakes.

As I grew up I got totally sucked in by music that was being played, as long as it had a story of emotional woe I could relate to that kept me immersed in some sort of drama, for example – being sad, lonely or in the misery of a relationship breaking up, or if it had a good beat I could also dance to, I was totally gone.

But thank goodness, it is not like this anymore.

I have found that there is actually music out there that is clear, without one ounce of emotion or woe, which is made with love. It doesn’t hurt my body to listen to it, nor do I wince or get sucked in – it’s the complete opposite in fact. I feel me, I feel so much expansion, freedom and joy in my body, there’s not one ounce of tension or pain.

It’s music that allows my body the freedom to expand, and it calls me to connect more deeply within myself and all that I am – absolute love, joy, truth and so much more. The difference is it has not been made to self-promote or gain, but made with love for all of humanity to hear: it holds all others equally and allows people to feel the truth of who they really are with no imposition at all.

Inspired by Universal Medicine and Serge Benhayon.

By Gyl Rae, 37, Scotland

Related Reading:
Serge Benhayon on the Energetic Science of Music
Music by Glorious Music
Music by Chris James
Music and Parenting

1,214 thoughts on “Music – What are we Really Listening to?

  1. I work in hospitality and a lot of the time there is music playing. What I find really interesting is when clients come up, they walk in and say wow it is really peaceful here when there is no music. So we all do know and can feel when music is imposing and when we are given the space to just be and from what I am observing everyone loves it.

  2. This is a fascinating topic – in the last few weeks I keep getting old songs that I used to listen to playing in my head – and I haven’t heard them for over 5 years, and I’ve been wondering how a rhythm can stay in your body for so long. It’s almost like the song that get stuck in your head keeps you in that moment and pulls you back to the past rather than allowing you to focus on the present moment.

  3. Music can in so many ways be an on-slaught on the body and our senses. Music impacts us on many levels and so it is important to discern what it is we are listening to and how this affects us. These days when I listen to a song I let myself be more aware of my body and where I can feel something ‘pushing on me’ – sometimes I feel a pressure on my throat, or an ache in my chest or a pressure on my heart…to me these are all signs that the music I am listening to is not allowing me to just be, but is imposing in some way. And this does not feel supportive to me. But I have come across music that does not do this, that simply allows me to be, and then there is music I have heard and felt, that not just allows me to be, but also allows me to grow. GM records with Michael Benhayon is one of those that I find quite supportive to listen to, and worth experimenting with.

  4. Putting a beat to abusive words does not constitute as music and yet we have allowed such a thing to not only exist but be celebrated.

  5. Sometimes I can feel very strongly what the music is asking or tempting me to do. Without conscious awareness of this I would allow it straight in and allow myself to be influenced. With awareness it is possible to catch it and recognise the pull or the temptation which enables me to keep my power and not get affected.

  6. Living with teenagers music is hot topic that can cause a lot of conflict in our house. Recently i was explaining that some of the rap music they were playing made me feel like there was no room to breath or think and that I didn’t like that feeling, I preferred music that gave me space and left me alone. It was an interesting conversation because they said that the reason I didn’t like rap wa the very reason they did. It was a great conversation as it confirmed for me just how powerful music can be.

  7. What I am learning is that I need to be very present when I listen to music because if I am not then very quickly I can absorb the emotions that are being evoked in the music, for example, I may be feeling great and then a certain song comes on and it totally disturbs me. All music carries an energetic vibration which we need to pay attention to.

  8. Music was similar to food for me. When I was heavily partaking of something I could not even contemplate that it might not be supportive to my body since in that moment I did not know any different to compare to. But once I decided to test something if I avoided it for a while and then observed the impact, I was much more aware if it did not feel so great.

  9. ‘…holds all others equally and allows people to feel the truth of who they really are with no imposition at all.’
    This is such a rarity. Music usually holds bucketfuls of emotion – anger, melancholy, excitement etc. I used to choose it to help make me feel a certain way so I wouldn’t have to feel what I didn’t want to. The trouble with this is I bury who I am and I don’t get to know or feel who I truly am.

  10. Well said Gyl, music is not innocent as everything is energy. We do not learnt to discern what it is our favoured tunes and genres of music come with, nor it’s real impact on our bodies. Only since attending Universal Medicine presentations and workshops have I developed my own ability to sense and discern what it is a piece of music is doing to me, and then to choose if I want that affect or not.

  11. If we could ‘see’ music we would see that the vast majority of it, no matter how pleasing it seems to the ears, is actually like a fine gas that seeps into our bodies and imposes onto us a certain way to move, albeit seemingly unbeknownst to us. This way to move is not in accordance with who we truly are because it is sounded in discordance to the tune of the Universal order we belong to and as such cripples the body and being within it. We can spend lifetimes incarcerated in this way. On the other hand true music inspires true movement – a way to move that is in complete congruence with the truth of who we are and thus the All that we belong to.

  12. If we really focussed on the lyrics of main stream media and what is being communicated, I doubt we would actively say “Yes, I want to have that bombarding my ears and body” let alone allow our children to listen to it. But somehow we’ve disconnected from what music is communicated and it is simply what happens. Yet, even though we have disconnected, the body is still receiving it all.

  13. It is actually extraordinary how often we are bombarded with music whether it be songs or jingles to distract or consume or attention… and as a result lose any form of presence in our bodies if we are not consciously choosing it. The fact we don’t have a choice about what and when music is imposed upon us is quite abusive. The only thing we can choose when avoidance is off the table is making sure we don’t get hooked, for within that there is great harm in the messages let alone the quality of what we are subliminally and energetically subjected to.

  14. It was not until I read this blog that I realised how much music can impact on your day and the way we interact with others. For years I have watched how colleagues would sing a tune at work from their favourite artist, often mimicking the anger or emotionally words and carry this tune with them all day with comments like… “I can’t seem to get the song out of my head.”

  15. It’s also interesting, once you start observing the effects that music has on our bodies, just how many different situations music is added to – gyms, shops, social events, pubs, bars and of course being able to listen to music on the go in our cars and on mp3 players and phones.

  16. Just like the food we eat… we ingest all the ingredients that are in music. From the daily living of the performer, the quality of the lyrics, and the energy the instruments are played in.

  17. Some restaurants and shops have the music so loud these days that you have to shout to be heard. It makes no sense to go for a meal and then have to shout over the music – what ever happened to talking to each other and having an actual conversation. It feels abusive to the staff and the customers, and often when speaking to family members who work in hospitality, they say they have to block the music out and that the tunes get stuck in their heads, and this is all to create an atmosphere.

    1. As if the imposition of phones and tablets at dinner tables wasn’t enough, there is also loud music to drown out connection between people. When did talking and listening to one another or simply being together become so uncool?

  18. It’s been a joy to listen to music that does not impose, or incite or dump emotions onto me. Thank you Glorious Music, Chris James and now others who recognise that there is a responsibility in making music that comes free and clear of emotions, leaving the listener be so they can go through their own process of healing.

  19. Very well said Gyl. There is a lot more to music than we realise. We take in energy through our ears just as we do through our mouths when we eat a plate of food. We discern what we eat but do we discern what we listen to?

  20. Your sharing here reminds me of incidents from my own childhood Gyl. I particularly recall being invited with my family – when very young – to watch the local carnival from a friend of my mothers flat above the high street where we could get a better view. But when the marching bands came along I would cry and run away from the window. As I understand more about the energy of music I now realise this wasn’t just because of the volume but because of the ‘assault’ on my sensitivity generally. It was actually painful for me. Rather than embrace this sensitivity in our young we tend to toughen them up but to me this is a mistake because sensitivity is a gift and something to be cherished and nurtured not covered up. Our innate sensitivity allows us to feel so much and helps us to discern more of life than we can with just our external senses. I used to think being sensitive was a curse – but today, I know it is a blessing.

  21. At work I enjoy the early mornings before the music comes on as it feels lovely, when the music comes on the feel of the restaurant completely changes. I have reacted in the past to the managers (or other people I am working/doing something with) insistence on playing music/the radio but today I stop and realised. I used to use music to not feel my body, I needed that imposing music so that I could close down from my ability to feel (clairsentience). This helps me understand those I work with more and that guy/lady on public transport with their headphones in and I can hear every beat from the other end of the carriage. Stopping to feel the quality of the music and accepting it as it is also feels more supportive then reacting and working in an environment with music pollution, something to explore while at work, Thank you Gyl.

  22. Music, as with food and all known ‘substances’ in this world, carries a vibration that will either be in accordance with the love that we are or in discordance to this. Thus, every single thought, word, action, sound, belief etc. will carry within it the propensity to either heal or harm depending on the tune it sounds.

  23. More and more popular mainstream music is becoming so sexualised and removed from the realities of life, either totally heightened through emotion or a lifestyle to aspire to. When I hear the songs, everything about the music is designed to entice, to stick in your head and make you buy into the image they are selling.

  24. One thing I have noticed also is how degraded lyrics have become. Back in the 50’s and 60’s for example music lyrics were much more respectful, often playful and innocent even if the concepts were not exactly the truth, perhaps they sang about emotional love and need instead of what true love is. Today lyrics are often sexualised and people have been degraded into body parts such as the song “My humps” which is a very different listen to “Pretty Woman”. It’s interesting to note the further drop into degradation of how we see ourselves and others in today’s lyrics, and that it’s accepted and celebrated. Abuse in any form in lyrics is apparently edgy and cool and not irresponsible and abhorrent.

  25. Music can be very overwhelming and imposing on the body and I find it very interesting to constantly observe how it makes me feel. I have always been quite sensitive to music and its effect on my body, but having more awareness on my movements allows me to discern for myself the vibration and quality music is produced with.

  26. It doesn’t take long to have music playing in the background for me to feel agitated and wanting to run from it, the other day I went into a shop and there were buskers playing outside The ladies inside the shop looked frazzled and I asked them how they were doing and told them the music was really imposing, they both agreed and were grateful that I had called it out, because the music had been ‘nice’ they felt they could not complain yet it was obviously affecting them. It seems in society we are to all too keen to override our real feelings when it comes to music.

  27. ‘If you love me come and get your fill… ‘ Sounds like an invitation to say ‘If you tell me you love me I’ll put out for you as much as you want me to’. Now that’s outright prostitution – but instead of cash the pay-off is emotional. Who’s filling who in that scenario?

  28. To listen with my whole body is very revealing of just what I used to ‘enjoy’ listening to! I heard a song recently that used to be one I really liked but could feel now just how deadening it is energetically. I’m appreciating more just how much of an effect music can have on us – it can be like junk food or true nourishment!

  29. I used to think the story of the Pied-Piper of Hameline was just a fairy tale, but that is exactly what is happening out there, every day. Music is being used to manipulate our behaviour and emotion.

    1. It really is Fumiyo and what’s even more disturbing in a way is that this is widely known and yet accepted. There are whole books and marketing techniques on how to use music to manipulate our customers and yet collectively we don’t think it’s much of an issue if at all

  30. Yes, there indeed are two types of music out there. Music that harms you in some way another and music that supports you in being all that you are and doesn’t affect you. When I started listening what music did to my body it changed my world as well: suddenly I felt that this song I loved so much gave me a sickness in my stomach. Suddenly I felt depressed after hearing a song that while being played had lifted me.
    I started treating music the same way how I did food: yes it has to sound nice, but first it has to nourish and support my body. Music can do exactly the same.
    Musicians out there that make and play music that actually nourish me is Michael Benhayon (www.gloriousmusic.com.au) and Catherine Wood & Tina Kopa (www.soundsofsoul.com.au) But do feel into it yourself.

  31. It’s so interesting that generally in society we celebrate music that is emotional and cathartic. It took me some time to be able to feel for myself how damaging this is to us, but it makes so much sense when we think about it because if someone is being emotional towards us or around us, we feel it and it affects us in many ways – physically and mentally, so why should emotional music be any different?

  32. The music by Glorious Music Band is extraordinary, simply because it brings absolute joy = is harmless and carries no imposition to one’s heart, ears or any body part. This to me is absolute truth and all other music is simply a distraction and harm to one’s body, knowing and having very much experience in listening to music myself. Knowing this since I know Glorious Music by Michael Benhayon, I know that much of the music I had listened to and is on the current market – actually puts a lot of pressure and imposition on its listeners. That is what I observed and do not like.

  33. Lately I have been paying more attention to people’s speaking voices and am observing that a lot of people do not bring the fullness of who they are when they speak and this can be heard in the voice. This is the same in singing. When we do not let ourselves connect with who we are in truth then what we say/sing gets affected.

Leave a Reply

