Choices, Responsibility and Beyond…

Making Choices

Have you ever considered what the impact of chronic illness or severe injury might be on your ability to work, earn income, support yourself, and conduct the affairs of day to day life? I know I didn’t think of these things when I was younger. I was strong, fit, full of energy, motivated, level-headed, into life, working full time, volunteering, in relationships, and in community. It never occurred to me how much could be swept away at any time by a serious incident or illness… Elderly people say this to younger ones, but how much of it sinks in?

What it comes down to is being responsible for our choices from the youngest possible age. But it’s never too late to begin.

I did to the best of my ability when I was younger, and I have to say that I did more to be responsible about my health and my behaviour relative to my peers. But there was a lot I didn’t yet understand about responsibility, about cause and effect, about the consequences of choices, or what may come before them.

And far from ‘what you don’t know won’t hurt you’, in fact, what you don’t pay attention to, definitely can hurt you.

I got sick, and I got injured. One big example that is still having a significant impact on my life happened when moving house 10 years ago. I made a choice to rent a house based on the picture that fitted what I thought I wanted, without feeling and looking deeper into it. The house turned out to be a toxic nightmare. Lack of responsibility was everywhere: in the landlord for not cleaning up a rat- and pesticide-contaminated house, in the agent and property manager for concealing the facts and marketing an unsafe property, in the government for not regulating these things, and in me for not discerning if the choice of house was true.

The Acceptance of Responsibility

Nowadays I know a lot more about responsibility at a much deeper and broader level, thanks to Serge Benhayon. I realise that there are no victims – that in one way or another, aware of it or not, by our choices we all ultimately cause whatever life is throwing at us, or bringing to us on a golden platter – whichever. Every one of us has 100% responsibility for our role in what occurs in our lives. Of course, other people also have 100% responsibility too. There are no fractional contributions, and thus no room for blaming anyone else or expecting anyone else to ‘fix’ us! Of course, when people do things that harm another, it’s important to call that out and not allow evil to continue to harm others and dictate the terms of our society.

To go back to consequences…

So, when you are very sick or injured for an extended period, it impacts your ability to work, to get through the day doing normal activities – anyone with disabilities or chronic illness can tell you that. I was not prepared for the difficulties when my heart and kidneys were damaged by the rat-borne leptospirosis and toxoplasmosis infections, plus the poison-soaked timbers, from that toxic house. I got to know the ambulance paramedics and the doctors and nurses of the local hospital ED (emergency department) very well, ‘too well’. Actually, they were gorgeous, deeply caring and supportive. This represented a shift in my relationship with illness and the medical profession, which had been rather resistant and reactive until this circumstance. I was ‘finding what I took in with me’ as the little green Jedi, Yoda, once said! “When I took in resistance and reaction, that’s what I got. When I took in love and understanding, that’s what I got”. Still, it was a very difficult time, and it isn’t entirely over yet.

So how did I react 10 years ago? Did I experience it as a victim, or do my best to maximise the opportunity to learn and evolve from it and ask for the help I needed whilst taking responsibility for my own choices and healing? Once upon a time, I would have reacted with a victim mentality: Why me? It’s not fair! What did I do to deserve this and other similar common reactions? However, this time was different. I did take responsibility and didn’t expect anyone else to ‘fix me’ or take the rap for my situation, whilst also addressing the systemic corruption. Being aware of my responsibility, I didn’t expect friends, family or colleagues to pay my way or solve my problems. I did ask the government to help me, as it does have established programs for just such an eventuality befalling Australian citizens.

So that was the practical side of it. Since then it has come to my attention that there is much more, and a deeper level to go to than physical consequences and how to manage them. My new way of understanding life is that everything uncomfortable that plays out in our bodies is, in one way or another, a healing: healing from recent choices, healing from past choices. But didn’t I say it goes much deeper?

Alignment

The other day during a phone conversation with a friend who was talking about how hard it is to break habits and how easily we fall back into them, I realised something deeply in my body. If I stand around as a separated individual self, chewing over my choices in my mind, it’s too late, – I’m already walking a path that keeps me in the maze before I actually finish making a choice! This is trying to solve the problem ‘after the fact’ with the same mind that created it, as the famous scientist Einstein once said.

However, it’s different if I align with a deeper truth, the truth of my Soul, in all my movements leading up to the point where a choice would normally be made. Then there is no need to choose because already the soulful movement of my life flows effortlessly. I am coming to understand this as living in energetic truth.

Our bodies and minds are not truly separate from something much bigger. For me, the only sensible way to be, ultimately, is to harmonise with the whole by aligning with the magnitude of what we are, what we are part of, and what we came from. You can call it God, the Divine, the Infinite Eternal Unknown Cause (whatever you wish), that which is both deep within us and all around us.

Therefore, if I am now still experiencing the consequences of accidents and illnesses that plagued my life, what did I align with in the past that led to this ‘I am’? One such highly impactful choice was moving into that toxic house 10 years ago. I was taken by appearances because I was not living in alignment with my sensitive Soul, which could have read truth. I was aligned with my spirit, that which was inharmonious, individual and therefore not considering all in its movements.

So here is a wonderful opportunity that we can recognise and appreciate… That in every moment we have the ability to align with God, so that our life plays out on the path of harmony and well-being for ourselves and all. It is a vastly faster choice, takes a nanosecond, and has no suffering ‘self’ in the way of it.

Seeing life in this way simply changes everything!

By Dianne Trussell, BSc Hons, Scientist, Lismore, NSW

Further reading:
Are we taking Responsibility for our own lives?
Spirit or Soul? Learning the difference through Serge Benhayon
The Consequences of our Choices

41 thoughts on “Choices, Responsibility and Beyond…

  1. Dianne reading your blog again these words struck me
    “If I stand around as a separated individual self, chewing over my choices in my mind, it’s too late, – I’m already walking a path that keeps me in the maze before I actually finish making a choice! This is trying to solve the problem ‘after the fact’ with the same mind that created it, as the famous scientist Einstein once said.”
    Our minds create the problem that we then try to solve, so we are totally caught up in our minds so that we do not hear what our bodies could be communicating to us. This keeps our mind in control which is why our spirit wants total domination over our bodies so that it can continue living as an individual rather than reconnecting back to the one soul we all come from which it separated from eons ago. Coming to the understanding that we are just empty vessels until we are moved by an energy is very humbling, and even more humbling is what energy we align to, to move our bodies the spirit which we know is wayward or our soul that would never harm us.

  2. Energy and Truth are such a Sacred Blessing and as you have shared Dianne it is when we are Soul-fully connected we start on the Sacred journey home.

  3. I totally agree with you Dianne, like you and thousands of others I have come to an understanding about responsibility which is constantly changing as I allow myself to feel the level of responsibility there is to deepen into. I spent years in the misguided belief I was a victim of life which gave me an attitude a ‘get out of jail’ free card to be irresponsible. I’m so glad that I met Serge Benhayon and Universal Medicine the workshops and presentations I have attended have given me an education far beyond what I learnt at school. I am able to be far more accepting of life and my part in it. I am not a victim at all, I am the end result of the consequences of my choices. There is so much more to learn and discard on my road of self discovery. I would wish that what is taught by Universal Medicine becomes part of our education as the whole of humanity would greatly benefit from such teachings.

  4. Are we not responsible for how we move and the energy we move in, and thus understanding the energy before we move is super important as the energy we are in will be magnified by our movements! So if we feel hungry and move towards the fridge thinking about chocolate we get there already to eat that food, but if we move towards the fridge in Love with every step by the time we get there it will be meal time and our choice will be one of being Loving and nurturing for our body.

  5. It’s the deep honesty of what we were aligned to, and accepting the long term consequences of those alignments – thank you Dianne. “Did I experience it as a victim, or do my best to maximise the opportunity to learn and evolve from it and ask for the help I needed whilst taking responsibility for my own choices and healing?” I love the 3 keys here, learning and evolving, asking for support, and taking responsibility for ourselves.

  6. ❤️ always aligned us to our bodies but it is up to us all to learn to listen to the stillness that comes from with or our Inner-hearts and thus discern what will no longer serve our body as you have Dianne.

  7. ‘I was aligned with my spirit, that which was inharmonious, individual and therefore not considering all in its movements.’ great to reference this in our seeming decisions when in fact we are simply acting on the quality of alignment we have made prior to this.

  8. It is no coincidence that we have sayings in life which are actually the opposite of the truth, such as ‘what you don’t know won’t hurt you’ and ‘everything in moderation’. They are there by design to allow us to remain in irresponsibility and ignorance of the grander truth that we know when we allow ourselves to return to our awareness of it.

    Learning to observe life and learn the lessons we are offered, such as in this blog, is truly a gift to support us to return to deeper awareness of the effect of our choices from what we make our focus. Accepting responsibility for our choices is at the start of this process as we stop trying to avoid what is in front of us, but also deepening throughout as it becomes a relationship of being in response to what we return to knowing and feeling.

    1. Michael, Why do we try to avoid what is in front of us which is the return we will all make as we face our soul again and walk back through the mess of irresponsibility and reclaim the joy that resides in our inner heart when we reconnect back to God and the universe.

  9. Understanding True Religion and the ensuing relationship we have with God opens the door to our True evolution and return to the wisdom of the universe.

  10. I would agree with you Dianne that we are a part of something much bigger, something much grander. The more I allow myself to let go and feel the possibility the more I am convinced that we are all part of a bigger cycle of the universe and this life is like a grain of sand in comparison to the ever expanding grandness we originate from.

  11. Focusing on our Soul can make all the difference as you have shared Dianne, and seeing this has been always around as an Ageless Wisdom teaching maybe the profoundness and simplicity of this fact should be considered before we make any move.

  12. Thank you Dianne for this sharing.Trying to solve the problem with the mind that created the problem in the first place – is a powerful revelation and stops the crazy complication that it creates.

  13. Considering the fact of alignment is a very wise choice, as it is from there that we can understand and take responsibility about the whole thread of choices we made in our life

  14. Everything goes beyond, nothing stops dead in it’s tracks, there are energetic consequences to everything because everything is energy and so everything bleeds into the All, the All is comprised of everything and every-thing and so what is it that we’re contributing in every moment. I ask myself this when I can feel the serrated edge of anxiety in my chest or when I feel compelled to keep doing whatever it is that I’m doing when another person has walked into the room and I know that there is more on offer if I was to be with them. As in right now I could stop typing and go and give Dad a hug….over I go………

    1. What you have shared Alexis is very beautiful… that nothing stops dead in it’s tracks, there are energetic consequences to every movement we make. How many of us stop to consider that how we move has a ripple effect on everything else and that one movement can have a cascading effect like someone knocking over a domino and all the other pieces fall over one by one to an end result?

      1. ‘There are energetic consequences to every movement we make’ and that’s because ‘every-thing is energy’, we live in a world of energy effecting energy. Even a thought is energy that will in turn effect the world of energy that we all live in. And all energy falls into one of two categories, it either adds to the energy that we all are or it detracts from the energy that we all are and that, quite simply, is that.

  15. Dianne – I love how you have highlighted this part and I too find it tnteresting how we create a bunch of problems, seek to solve them and the celebrate having got out of them by our own means…. would it not be more interesting to not create the problems to begin with and instead be here to bring what we are here to bring (which is to show how it can be done without creating issues or problems)…Something I am still learning to do!

    1. Henrietta it is my understanding that the bunch of problems is created for us by the alignment to the astral plane that then gives us the answers to the problems that they gave us. We celebrate finding the solution ‘thinking’ we solved the problems, when they were given to us in the first place. When we align to the astral plane we give ourselves away to such an extent we become puppets and are played with. This is a massive learning to truly understand we do not think we are a blank canvas for an energy to come through which energy are we going to chose spirit or soul?

  16. Life is indeed full of learnings and this is the most powerful learning of all: “So here is a wonderful opportunity that we can recognise and appreciate… That in every moment we have the ability to align with God, so that our life plays out on the path of harmony and well-being for ourselves and all. It is a vastly faster choice, takes a nanosecond, and has no suffering ‘self’ in the way of it.”

  17. “When I took in resistance and reaction, that’s what I got. When I took in love and understanding, that’s what I got”. – Amazing to feel the reflections we get.

  18. Interestingly I have been given what I would call a ‘love bomb’ a package of love that I have opened to reveal that there are parts of me that are packed with preconceived ideas that I did not know were there on one level of consciousness, but I did know subconsciously. It feels centuries old, a past life package that has been opened up within me. I can either resist what has been offered or empty the contents on the table and look at all the ‘stuff’ I have harboured against the world, to see if in the light of day they hold up to the truth. I can feel the responsibility to myself and others to work through the package presented as an opportunity to grow and expand deeper into the love and joy that is the universe. Our alignment to God is everything.

  19. ‘I was aligned with my spirit, that which was inharmonious, individual and therefore not considering all in its movements.’ – the more I am willing to see this as a truth the more allowing I am of the space that is God and his immutable and expansive love.

  20. We’ve chosen our way into every single thing that happens to us and equally we have to choose our way out. Or perhaps it’s more accurate to say we have aligned our way into every single thing that happens to us and we have to use our alignment to move our way out.

    1. Alexis I definitely feel that we have to choose our way out and we achieve this through the alignment we make to our soul. I have also discovered that no one can make us or get us out of anything we have chosen. No one can save us, we save ourselves by taking the steps and making different choices.

  21. Appreciating our divine connection 😇 is key 🔑 to our living in a way that we expand or evolves us as Joy-fully as possible no matter what our body has to clear.

  22. If we honour and live what we know is the truth – it’s not a free pass from illness and disease and corrections by any means – but whatever occurs will be expansive and supportive of us all. And if we don’t well then equally no matter how ‘good’ things might seem we just add to the mess and muck in this world.

    1. Great point Joseph – for it is not about being illness and disease free, but rather about the energy that runs us and what we are here to learn about that.

  23. “In every moment we have the ability to align with God, so that our life plays out on the path of harmony and well-being for ourselves and all” Dianne I am wondering out loud if this is true. Yes now I feel for me that this is mostly possible but ten years ago when I was completely wrapped up in the momentum of my spirit I don’t feel that it would have been. All of my choices back then were governed by the fact that pretty much all of my movements were aligned to my spirit and so the choice to align to my soul didn’t seem to present itself, well certainly not obviously so. My migration from being spirit aligned to soul aligned has been a gradual one and yes I do feel that the choice to align to my soul is ever present but that’s because I have pretty much changed the way that I move in everything that I do but that has taken time.

    1. I agree with everything you say Alexis, the part that is missing is that of Serge Benhayon and Universal Medicine. I know for a fact that I would still be indulging and completely wrapped up in my spirit, probably on medication for mental health issues and nowhere as fit and healthy as I am today. Like you my alignment to my soul has been a gradual one but one that has been so worth taking. None of this would have been possible without Universal Medicine who by reflection showed me and thousands of others a different way to approach and live life.

  24. “I realise that there are no victims – that in one way or another, aware of it or not, by our choices we all ultimately cause whatever life is throwing at us, or bringing to us on a golden platter”, what if absolutely everything that life sends our way comes on an energetic golden platter because everything that comes our way, whether or not we label it as ‘a catastrophe’ or an ‘opportunity’ is a foothold for evolution.

  25. Oh Dianne this is a magnificent sharing. The way that you express so many truths about life is so matter of fact and presented in a way that’s easy to understand. You don’t invite argument in what you say, the facts feel like they stand free of emotion or even emphasis, you’re not making a point, you’re just stating a fact. Love it, in fact I’m going straight back to the beginning for a re-read.

    1. I agree Alexis, there is a freedom in Dianne’s writing that is compelling but totally leaves you to be and enriches you from the inside out.

  26. “However, it’s different if I align with a deeper truth, the truth of my Soul,” The choice is made long before we think we have a choice.

  27. Let’s be honest Dianne and say that this part of ourselves which has separated from the soul the spirit does not care one jot for the physical body, it is immortal, so if it trashes a body so what, it just reincarnates to another one. Until we fully grasp and understand that we have been lied to on so many different levels and that we are mere puppets to an energy we have aligned to then the spirit has the upper hand and controls the physical body. This is why it is so important to reconnect to our soul because it is only through this alignment that we can bring our separated spirit back into the oneness of our soul, the soul again.

  28. Dianne this is so true
    ‘“When I took in resistance and reaction, that’s what I got. When I took in love and understanding, that’s what I got”.’
    I have found this to be true the hard way, and I couldn’t understand why the world was against me that’s how it felt at the time my attitude became so what’s the use, best to give up, and give in.
    Knowing Serge Benhayon and attending the workshops of Universal Medicine has enabled me to change my life completely, I realised I was fighting myself I have been resisting my own sensitivity, delicateness, beauty and power, how crazy to be in such resistance to just being me. It has taken many years to put the cudgel down and relearn how to take care of myself which then leads to loving oneself enough to understand that what goes around comes around be love and love comes back by the bucketful. This to me is a science in itself and should be studied at all levels because it does work.

  29. We all grow up familiar with the concept of cause and effect but just because we learn to disconnect and ignore the consequences of what we do certainly does not mean they do not exist. And as you say Dianne it often takes a big incident or illness to make us realise we were never ‘getting away’ with it the way we think.

    1. Agreed, life gives us many signs along the way for us to take note of and it is in aligning we start to understand the corrections.

Comments are closed.