A woman’s strength is ‘KNOW’ and ‘NO’

by Rebecca Poole, Brisbane, Australia

My strength doesn’t come from my ability to bench press a weight. It certainly doesn’t come from my ability to fight. My strength isn’t in the size of my biceps or the width of my shoulders.

When I was young I thought I had to be physically muscular, athletic, rough and tough to be strong. My experience was that soft girls got walked over, teased, abused, and experienced inappropriate sexual behaviour from men. Understandably, this I didn’t want, so I chose toughness because I thought it was strength.

In my 20’s I began to ask myself “has this toughness really helped me in any way?” I still had experienced abuse and bullying. I still had experienced inappropriate sexual taunts and many, many unwanted breast and arse grabs by “friends” and strangers alike. It hadn’t really prevented any of these things as I thought it would when I was a little girl first experimenting with toughness.

Now at 30, I try something else. . . True Strength, what some might call INNER STRENGTH.

  • The strength that allows you to KNOW what is true, just, loving or fair – and the strength that allows you to say ‘NO’ to what is not true, just, loving or fair.
  • The strength to do this for yourself, and the strength to do this equally for others.
  • The strength to know and say ‘no’, even if you are the only one.

MY strength is in my KNOWINGNESS. That feeling I get in the core of my being that tells me if something is TRUE or NOT. My strength is in my NO. This NO can be loud, quiet or silent because its real strength is in the unwavering quality it is delivered in.

187 thoughts on “A woman’s strength is ‘KNOW’ and ‘NO’

  1. Simple and powerfully delivered Rebecca! The power of this blog comes not from the words delivered, but from the livingness of the woman who lives every word that she writes. Thank you for the immense inspiration that you are!

  2. Beautiful Rebecca – inspiring to read, and just what I needed to read. We do know what is true and what is not. The next thing is to express Yes to what is and No to what is not. To then hold that same quality in its delivery is what completes this movement of divine expression that lives naturally within. A great summary that shows life is Spherical and how we evolve each time we deliver!

  3. The inner strength when you know who you truly are is very powerful and doesn’t use any physical muscle strength.

  4. When we connect to and know our inner strength it allows us ‘to say no to what is not true’ – so true Rebecca.

  5. It is becoming clear that there is no doubt that I know what is true in every moment. I make mistakes and not get some movements straightaway because of the lack of connection to myself but I know what love is and giving myself space and love at these times are crucial in supporting myself along the way.

Leave a Reply

