Every Part Matters – Supporting Our Whole Body

Our body is made of many different parts and every part is naturally connected to all the others. It is not an option for each one to work in isolation and to not always be working together in precise synchronicity with all the other parts. So if one part is not supported, then the whole body is affected in some way, shape or form. Much like an orchestra playing together, one out-of-tune sound affects the whole piece being played.

It is a great understanding to have, to know that each organ, every muscle, the quality of our breath, every bodily system, even down to our cells and particles, plays a significant part in the whole – to either leave us feeling vital or depleted.

If we choose to not be present in our body, to not feel unity and be aware of the interconnectedness, then we can cause harm to ourselves. When we are present with ourselves we are able to take the care of our body in a way that allows each part to be everything it was designed to be… and thus US being everything we were designed to be in life.

So how does this play out in the practicality of our days? Let’s imagine a simple everyday situation like cutting vegetables for dinner. It is possible to do this one task in two very different ways:

One way… we can place all the importance and focus being directed only to the active part of the hand holding the knife while chopping the vegetables and forgetting the rest of the body. Perhaps in this scenario the head is leaning forward, the back slouching, the legs standing unevenly, and the mind being distracted and thinking of something unrelated. This activity is being done without an awareness of the rest of the body and a collaboration of the mind with it, which results in adding more strain on the hand, making it work in isolation. As the other parts are somewhat forgotten, they can end up in pain or tension from being in a poor posture or misalignment.

Second way… when we allow ourselves to feel our body, keep our mind with what our body is doing, we are then able to be aware of how we need to adjust our body and its parts to support the whole. It is easy to see that if we are consciously present, standing with our feet, our legs, our back, our hips and our head in a good even posture, keeping our mind also with the task at hand while cutting the vegetables, then the whole body remains supported and balanced with every part working together. Every part of the body is able to do its part, supporting the other parts in the activity, leaving the body in no way compromised or harmed.

When we work in this way the activity is not an effort, but something enjoyable that offers more energy to us because we have been present while doing it, therefore not draining ourselves by exerting extra energy than needed. The interesting thing is, it actually takes less energy to be aware, present and to support ourselves. It doesn’t add to the list or chores we do in our day, yet many of us seem to choose something similar to the first scenario in our daily activities. Is it any wonder humanity is so exhausted?

When we are aware, present and with ourselves in full, knowing every part matters, then we can clearly feel how we best need to support each part of our body. Activities do not become draining but offer the body a vitalised feeling.

When every part of the body is honoured, the body feels fully supported and able to do its purpose.

And when the body feels supported, it says, “What’s next? I’m ready for that!”

By Amparo Lorente, Special Needs Educator, Bachelor of Social Work, Social Educator Qualified, Master’s degree in Music Therapy, Complementary Health-Esoteric Practitioner & Johanna Smith, Bachelor of Education (Major Special Needs, Minor Psychology), Certificate of Early Childhood Education, Complementary Health – Esoteric Practitioner, Student of Counselling Diploma

Related Reading:
Episode 1 – Whole Body Intelligence
Connection to self through conscious presence
Presence in the body – Our key to True Intelligence

Spara

319 thoughts on “Every Part Matters – Supporting Our Whole Body

  1. Beautiful reminder that every movement matters. We are either moving with the all which includes all our body, or moving to what is not, which likes to separate all, even our body.

  2. Focusing on the detail and each and every pocket of life is indeed wise – for our life will be one of heavenly substance or otherwise sounds or looks good perhaps but lacks the true quality of love.

  3. Our body is like an ecosystem. You cannot make a change in one part without it affecting the whole body. Modern medicine has tried to break down and treat the body in parts, but Plato warned of this being impossible and unwise well over two thousand years ago. We think we are getting smarter but sometimes I wonder…

  4. What you are sharing Amparo feels very simple and true; being aware of whole body rather than just one part, we are then present in our bodies and moving in an honouring and loving way, this simple way of being would make a huge difference in our society – there would not be the huge levels of illness and disease that comes from our unloving and disconnected way of living.

  5. ‘Our body is made of many different parts and every part is naturally connected to all the others. It is not an option for each one to work in isolation and to not always be working together in precise synchronicity with all the other parts.’ Compartmentalising our body does not work just as compartmentalising our life does not provide the fullness that is available to us all.

  6. Most of my life I have taken my body for granted and this has been a revealing experience that I wasn’t aware of. When we shutdown and contract from who we are and go into a hardness and a protection in life then it is impossible to feel how incredibly powerful, delicate and precious our bodies are. Self-Love has been my stepping stone to connect and feel this again, something I knew when I was a baby but chose to let it go to conform with everyone else around me.

    1. Completely in sync with you on this one. I too have always used my body as a machine to get things done giving little or no attention to is care or maintenance. That isn’t to say that I have treated it very badly – but it is important to discern that any choices that I have made to “look after my body” have actually come from a desire for it to just to be able to keep on functioning and serve ME in what I as doing…rather than a true love and nurturing of it. This has been the huge sea-change for me. I’m still not anything like there yet..but, more and more, my choices and movements to love and nurture and care for my body are with the intention of it leading me, teaching me, showing me the all that it knows. I want to build that relationship and dialogue so that I can be inspired and led by it. Rather than how it has been thus far with ME telling IT what to do and what I need.

  7. I cannot help but think as I read this blog how in the past I would have viewed this simple science as hog wash and of no real importance to the real issues of life. But what if this is the real issue that is part of the cause of it all!

  8. Isn’t it ironic that the one thing we will never be able to escape from is our body? Clearly, the answers lay within.

  9. “…Our body is made of many different parts and every part is naturally connected to all the others. It is not an option for each one to work in isolation and to not always be working together in precise synchronicity with all the other parts…” …. Even though you are talking about the human body, there is symbolism in describing how every single person is a part of the whole of humanity and that we are connected in some way to each other and have the capacity to work harmoniously together.

  10. Being present with only one aspect means to neglect the rest of our body or we could say we are checked out from that rest. When the moment comes to use the rest, a different part or the whole of the body it will not be naturally ready but take a moment or two before we are fully present with it. For most this will be normal and not appear to be a problem as long as we don´t have an experience of being with the whole body. Only then we will be able to realize the effects of compartmentalization and or being checked out.

  11. Thank you for this blog. It is such an important area. I know from personal experience how easy it is to go into automatic action – this tends to involve focusing on the end product and the part of the body that performs the desired action and only paying attention to the rest of the body if it is getting in the way of the outcome or there is pain. This is so far from the honouring of our body as a whole and allowing the wisdom and awareness that we can only connect to via our body to start leading the way.

  12. Of course when you put in like that .. it makes complete sense and we know it, yet we live in a way that separates our body into parts, one where we do as you note above pushing through and being singularly focused on one thing to the detriment of the rest of us we cut ourselves short; imagine driving your car in such a way we don’t, so why treat our bodies in this way. Could it be that we know in ourselves that our bodies heed the call and know the responsibility we all carry and care live, and that we know the best way to sabotage that, namely to compromise the body, and so then we can’t be asked to be more … convenient isn’t it, and yet our bodies keep speaking to us, reminding us that the lesser way we choose to move in is not us and that we are more, and we’re here to live that more.

  13. Fascia, the connective tissue that holds everything in our bodies and allows it to work together as one. And, our mind thinks it can improve on this process by taking short cuts and skipping bits.

  14. Your wonderful blog has really got me pondering on the many parts of my body and how they all work together so naturally. Our job, and a most essential one, is to deeply care for our amazing body so all parts can work in harmony. I have noticed that if I put all my weight on one leg while I am standing – the baby on the hip pose – that every other part of my body feels totally out of alignment; that is how easy it is to upset the harmony of the body.

  15. I have just stepped into an eight hour time difference and then immediately done two back-to-back twenty hour shifts at work. I was very tired at times, but whenever I got tired I took myself for a gentle walk around the space in which I was working and used that walk to reconnect to my whole body. It’s magic. The support and energy that the body is able to deliver and the feeling of how actually we are designed to work (perhaps not quite this hard – and I will get some extra rest over the next 48 hours!). It’s pretty amazing to have done that without caffeine or sugar – our bodies are awesome.

    1. So cool Otto! I had a not so ‘intense’ but similar experience this week when I was very busy with different activities and tasks. I choose to have stop moments whilst doing the tasks to feel my body. If I then noticed any part of the body tense I would deliberately make sure I released any tension in that area. I realised how much I tense my feet throughout my day! On noticing this I also chose mini walks around the dental clinic where I work. Looking back, even that I was not able to complete all the tasks I had planned to, I left each day feeling complete with myself. Thank you super sweet body (sugar free and cafeine free)!

    2. While quite an extreme example Otto, you are right, it does show the capacity of our bodies, and if we are working but still have full regard for us our bodies respond in kind.

  16. The signals from our bodies are constant and may sometimes feel unnecessary or too much to take notice of, however the payback if we start to truly honour what we feel is vast and as a bonus it even builds greater awareness.

  17. I choose to come back to this blog today to share how much reading this blog and the comments have been supportive to me. Since then I have been much more focussed with my body in daily activities that I would not pay so much attention before. I laugh a lot throughout my day remembering the blog and it is so sweet how the body loves to be treated like this – in my experience I am feeling more at ease and more relaxed in my body.

  18. “Much like an orchestra playing together, one out-of-tune sound affects the whole piece being played.” When we do things with our whole body we bring all of us to the task at hand. If that is consistent, then we are bringing all of us to all of life, all of the time. This is quite different to doing things while thinking about something else and only being half present with what we are doing. It’s the difference of a life in function and automatic pilot vs one where we are fully engaged with the richness of each moment.

  19. What if in the same way every part of our body is interconnected, each 24 hour cycle or ‘day’ was too? That what happens on Tuesday has a direct correlation and is connected to what happens on Friday, even if it isn’t a temporal consequence of ordering something online for example, but is actually an outplay of how we moved, walked, talked, cooked and slept which could be presented to us in the form of a lesson.

  20. It makes sense that if we are connected to the whole of us instead of excluding other parts, and at the expense of other body parts, then we will be able to support ourselves in ways that we did not know were possible.

  21. Having not honored by body for most of my life time I can definitely say that
    “When every part of the body is honoured, the body feels fully supported and able to do its purpose.”
    I have spent a long time ridding myself of other people’s ideals and beliefs which I had taken on and claimed in full as mine. Freeing myself of them has allowed my body to open up and it feels amazing to live to now in my body, there is more of me and that is the space I feel in my body.

  22. I know when I am fixed on just one area of my body, for example when I am cutting vegetables, my body is more tense and I cannot feel the beautiful flow within my connective tissue system. When I honour my whole body in the movement everything changes. There is a deep appreciation of my movements, I move harmoniously and I can feel the fluidity within. As I write this I am pondering why I would ever choose to compartmentalise my body in its movements?

  23. Amparo, this is a great example of how we can support ourselves doing everyday tasks. I have noticed that my neck can be strained in a forward position when I am preparing food. This small observation has led to me taking notice of other parts of my body too. When I take all of me into consideration, there is a feeling of flow and connection to myself. Far better than the first way you described.

  24. If someone was to walk into that kitchen and see the two versions given here of someone cutting vegetables for dinner, they could feel instantly the energy of each from the movements. That energy of course will be in that dinner too.

  25. ‘And when the body feels supported, it says, “What’s next? I’m ready for that!” ‘ – How true, the body can turn around serious conditions or illness and start to heal if it is deeply honoured and by that, truly supported.

  26. When we honour the whole we cannot consider less than the whole…perhaps this is the key to truly supporting all and not just those we favour?

  27. When in connection with our bodies we are able to move with true purpose, where nothing can be draining as we are not trying or pushing to get things done but instead there is more of a surrender to what is and in that space our bodies deeply regenerate from our connection with the all.

  28. That is true, when we do work with our whole body we can often have as much or more energy afterwards than before.

  29. When every part of the body is honoured, the body feels fully supported and able to do its purpose. And when the body feels supported, it says, “What’s next? I’m ready for that!” Love that Amparo – the body always wants to move forward – in a spherical kind of way 🙂

  30. This section: “If we choose to not be present in our body, to not feel unity and be aware of the interconnectedness, then we can cause harm to ourselves.” If that was to be studied it would be a miracle to how we understand why illness and disease occur.

  31. The body parts never truly work in isolation. A hand never works on its own.There is never a hand chopping veggies that does not rely on the eyes, on the legs, on the heart pumping blood, etc. Yet, this does not mean that our way of living and functioning does not lead to specific patterns o configurations of how each body part relate to the other one and that this does not make a difference. It does. The other point to consider is that we can choose to do something isolating us from our being or not. So, isolation or communion has two aspects to it. They are related but different.

  32. When we honour the body and what is needed to support it, it lovingly and effortlessly works towards what is needed to be done.

  33. ‘It is a great understanding to have, to know that each organ, every muscle, the quality of our breath, every bodily system, even down to our cells and particles, plays a significant part in the whole – to either leave us feeling vital or depleted.’ – I am blown away by the stupendous intelligence of my own body and the way it has brought me back to vitality, even coming from a background of long periods of disregard and total depletion.

  34. Amparo, love the way you describe the two ways of cutting the vegetables, it brings focus to the importance that we eat and consume what we have previously prepared.. and so preparation in slouchiness means we and those we might be cooking for, also eat and are fed by us that [slouchy] quality too.

  35. We are the makers of our own ills, but we do have a choice to live differently through the connection to our inner soul and listening to our body.

  36. I love this Amparo, the respect for every part of the body playing its part to support the whole. There is not one part greater than another, each part knows its purpose and when it all works together, it makes the whole work in beautiful symbiosis and harmony.

Leave a Reply

