Re-Connecting to Universal Intelligence

This morning on my walk, as I was heading up the hill, I started to feel a little strained in my muscles and light-headed. I then naturally backed off and slowed down. Then a few moments later, I paused to reflect and appreciate what I had just chosen.

My incentive in the past when going on a walk consisted of the idea to get fit and often I’d have been driven to power and push through with this goal in mind. In doing this I was pushing through the limits of what my body was capable of and actually making myself exhausted and physically doing a bit of damage on some level. What’s intelligent about any of that?

This morning on my walk however, I was listening to the signals my body was giving me, which was that I absolutely needed movement and activity, but gentle movement and activity.

So as I continued on my walk, the appreciation was of the connection I have built over the years listening to my body and what it is saying. This to me is connecting to whole body intelligence – an understanding that the body knows what it needs, greater than any advice or research finding.

When I listen to my body and the messages, intelligence and wisdom it has to offer, I sense I am connecting to a grander picture of where that source of intelligence is coming from. Yes, it is me who is feeling it, but that intelligence is re-connecting to something which is universal.

I can see nature connects to this too. For example, I’ve always marveled at how a flock of migrating birds always has a certain formation with a lead bird at the front. When that bird needs to rest, another will replace it – and at the same time one falls back, another comes forward. How do they communicate that? – there’s no mobiles or two-way radios – but the message is communicated. It is this same source of intelligence humans have access to also.

Another way to demonstrate this is through my job, which is teaching. I completed the teaching component of my degree twenty-five years after studying the content of the subject. So when I first came to teaching, catching up on all the content felt overwhelming and I was almost overtaken with the anxiety of feeling not good enough or knowing enough.

But then I began to discover in many teaching moments that I would present some amazing info, which surprised me and I would think, where did that come from, how do I know that? It appeared I actually innately knew an awful lot about what I taught. The content of this delivery was not so much the recall of dates or names but would be of a deep and profound wisdom, always relating to the subject and content. I find students listen more intently when I speak from this perspective, and my whole voice and body feels like it is speaking from authority – whereas when I recall dates and people or read from a book, it is not as engaging for the students and my voice sounds different. I still need to learn and know the dates, figures, texts and grammar, but overall I naturally am able to convey the deep understandings which are required within all the teaching units – and within these teachings are some of the truest and most intelligent offerings my teaching has to deliver. So I began to learn to trust and surrender to the anxiety and teaching started to become far more enjoyable, as it became a natural expression.

How often do we give our power over to information and research; to institutions?

There is incredible intelligence in our bodies: no effort, professors, subscriptions or library cards needed – just a connection and a willingness to listen.

As I have deepened my connection with my body, and the relationship with my innate knowing and intelligence, I have experienced some profound effects in my life.

One of them is my inner confidence. I now know that if I feel something, it is valid and I listen. Trusting myself has had a profound impact on my self-confidence and the quality of how I feel towards myself has helped me to actually value, like and love me – and I now validate myself continuously by honoring what I feel. This has brought about a very precious and loving self-relationship that is sacred to me and delivers me a true inner confidence.

I feel equipped and have reduced anxiety as I trust my body will deliver me all I need as I walk through the many scenarios and situations in my life. Compared to the anxiousness and doubt with which I used to lead my life, this universal, whole body intelligence I am connecting to, feels amazing.

By Gina Dunlop

Related Reading:
Listening to your body
Living by our love, not from the head
Coming Back To Whole Body Intelligence

Spara

Spara

458 thoughts on “Re-Connecting to Universal Intelligence

  1. The universal mind can be accessed through the body. This is why we need to honour and respect the role our body plays in our evolution.

  2. I love reading about your re-discovery of universal intelligence, Gina, and feeling your joy of living in a way where there is so much more than meets the eye.

  3. Wow! If every teacher re-discovered universal Intelligence the education system would spring-blossom and our children would be left free to grow and develop their own natural divine essence and bring their unique and wonderful contribution to the world.

  4. Starting out with the Gentle Breath Meditation on the way to being self-loving are two of the keys that are used by the Esoteric Student on the way to be connected to our body and the universe.

  5. I have just started presenting workshops, I come up with a title / theme and off I go…this would have been impossible a few years ago, but I have a confidence in the fact that I am prepared in life all round and what is needed to be said will be said. I am still learning and this is building and small numbers of people may become greater, we will see. But I can now stand there in front of people talking, and what I say has a wisdom and depth that is not just my own, it comes from a deeper source. It is universal intelligence, I am surrendering to less me and I, and instead more us and all.

  6. Something I find mind blowing is that the Universe with all its intellingence is right beside and with us waiting for us to simply connect and allow it yet we go out seeking knowledge so we can own it, stress over things and try to figure everything out. Yet all we need to do is surrender and be with ourselves and everythign is known. Like you have found walking is great for this as it is through movement we can connect. I know sometimes I can start a walk feeling agitated and wanting to solve or get to the bottom of something then suddenly it drops away as not all consuming I see it clearly and its gone. It shows we alone are not as intelligent as we think we are otherwise we would be able to simply think our way out of things and not just fix the situation but instantly return to the love we are.

  7. “whereas when I recall dates and people or read from a book, it is not as engaging for the students and my voice sounds different.” Yes just plain knowledge is not very interesting it’s the lived experience and wisdom that comes with that, that makes classes and learning interesting.

  8. For too long we have championed the ‘mind’ as being the source of our intelligence, yet the mind is limited to working with the information that we have given it, the whole body has instant access to infinite universal wisdom, way beyond anything we can ever imagine.

  9. I love the irony that receiving universal intelligence takes no effort at all. In fact when there is effort, control or trying on my part, it all goes pear shaped! I end up in a knot with my body feeling unsettled by the various conflicting options that come into my head. With universal intelligence there is no trying or seeking and the way it feels in your body is very matter of fact, with no room for doubt.

  10. Universal intelligence describes how there is a common thread, a unified knowing that every single person has access to, an intelligence that is love – for this we only need look inwardly, by coming back, reconnecting and developing a relationship with our body.

  11. Nature shows us magic all the time, your sharing of the birds is a beautiful example of this – everything has it’s natural flow and rhythm. Have we as humans, in our busy lives, forgotten that we are part of this too?

  12. I noticed how much control I live on a deeper level and that when I let go control there comes many times a word or a sentence that I am listening to myself as it is not coming from a thinking energy in any form. The words are just there and I can feel they make a sentence and I feel the beauty from what is delivered.

  13. It’s pretty absurd when you put it this way Gina, we’re all chasing around, undertaking all kinds of courses and education to get ‘wise’ when all of the time, well, we know everything. Of course there are practical skills to be learnt in this life but in truth we are all experienced masters of the Universe. It helps when I have an issue or I’m talking to someone else who seems to, to always remember this.

  14. Information as you say Gina has its place but it’s so important to deliver it with the wisdom of understanding its relativity to life, making it something applicable rather than just information so to speak. And I love how you showed that this was something that came from naturally within you, without trying but with surrendering to what you already knew from your body.

  15. What if our intelligence isn’t actually it and there is a greater much more encompassing way we can consider the world? We’ve all experienced sensing something before it happens, or doing something and we know isn’t right and later saying we knew better – what if this is real intelligence – a knowing greater than our thoughts and our mind?

  16. Thank you Gina.
    After all our body is the one thing we are with all the time, so it makes absolutely sense to be in connection with it all of the time – all it requires from us to be open, willing to listen. Beautiful.

  17. The intelligence of the body is incomparable. Yet we have placed the intelligence of the mind on a pedestal and in the process relegated the body to second place – which in itself goes to show the arrogance of the mind and its lack of intelligence!!

  18. Thank you very much. This should be a study itself. A research. How you come from high levels of anxiety, to understanding anxiety from a deeper level and going beyond – living in joy with what you are there to do in teaching. How this anxiety actually stands opposite of this Universal Intelligence, and how we are all capable of living that once we have the tools. This is where the research would serve well. For people to see what is possible.

  19. It is such a great thing to appreciate more fully that what I feel to bring when I am flowing from my essence might be different from how other people do things, but that I can appreciate both what I and they bring in its uniqueness without judgment and comparison, and more of a celebration.

  20. “There is incredible intelligence in our bodies: no effort, professors, subscriptions or library cards needed – just a connection and a willingness to listen.” Yes we do place so much importance on research, universities, professors and the like. Yet we hold all the intelligence of the universe inside of us!!

  21. Although pushing/ignoring our body is never a true intelligent act, this is exactly what we do when we are driven by (our desire to make a stand in) the outside world. True intelligence can only come when we move inwardly first. A totally different pattern of movement.

  22. It is a whole other different kettle of fish when we speak from our authority, which in truth only comes from a connection to our essence.

  23. This is the intelligence we need to get taught in school, – how to listen to our bodies and connect to universal wisdom – in others words learn to respond to what is common sense instead of ignoring it.

  24. When we stop for a moment and take stock how we are living, there is a lot that does not make any sense at all. But when we connect to the whole body intelligence from within, the way forward is very simple and straightforward.

Leave a Reply

