What Does My Body Know?

My body has always amazed me with its ability to know what is ahead. A few years ago I moved from a climate that is warm in winter to a climate that is very cold in winter. I arrived at my new home in the summer, however as I am really thin, I was feeling a little bit worried about how my body would cope. Strangely I began to put on weight – not a lot, just a couple of kilos. I was amazed as I had never put on weight in this way before. I knew that my body was preparing for winter even though it was still warm in my new home. How did my body know what was ahead?

This made me ponder on many past and recent experiences I’ve had which simply confirm the amazing, yet natural intelligence of the body:

  • Recently I went to a dinner party and a friend of mine who is breastfeeding mentioned that scientists are beginning to hypothesise that babies signal the type of breast milk they need through saliva backwash while they are suckling. This hypothesis is congruent with what scientists already understand about human physiology. What we do know for sure is that breast milk changes to suit the infant that is drinking it – a fascinating process referred to as translational immunology¹. Our bodies are clearly intelligent; they are able to change the milk they produce based on the needs of a baby. Therefore, the body’s intelligence far surpasses anything we can think with our mind. Could you arrive at the exact structure of breast milk required by a baby solely by thinking about it… and in no time at all?
  • My partner and I went shopping for engagement and wedding rings. We walked into a few shops but they didn’t feel right and we didn’t try anything on. We walked into one shop and our bodies felt great – we had a lovely connection with the sales staff. We bought the first engagement ring I tried on. The ring did not fit the pictures I had, it wasn’t anything like what I had decided I wanted… but my whole body said yes (which was similar to what I experienced when I first met the man I will soon be marrying).
  • In my 20’s I had severe acne. It was painful and disfiguring and I still have physical scars that remind me of what I went through. For 12 years I ‘cured’ my acne with a contraceptive pill. This pill is now off the market as it caused fatal blood clots in quite a few of its users. I was one of the ‘lucky’ ones but use of this medication took a huge toll on my body. It wasn’t until I addressed my abusive diet of chocolate, coffee, sugar, stress and fried food that I was able to truly heal the cause of acne in my body. When we don’t address the root cause of a disease our body has to move its messages (symptoms) around. It’s intelligent enough to know how to eliminate the toxic choices we make in order to keep us alive. All the while we curse it for showing us the very inconvenient truth.
  • At the moment I am housesitting with my partner and we are looking after a highly sensitive bird named Pedro who makes a certain sound whenever we argue. It has come to a point where Pedro senses an argument 5 minutes before we do. We’ve learned to observe him and his movements and we don’t argue so much anymore! Animals trust and act on the intelligence of their bodies far more than we do.

In my experience, the body never gets it wrong. In contrast, the bad decisions I have made from my mind are too numerous to mention… and the fallout from these decisions? W-e-l-l-l, it’s been anything but pretty.

The intelligence of my body is available to me in every moment and every movement. I can hear it loud and clear when I take good care of it, lovingly put myself to sleep early, eat food that makes it feel light and zingy, drink plenty of water and observe life rather than getting caught up in reactions.

In my 30’s I met a man by the name of Serge Benhayon. He was the one that reminded me that my body held the answer to every question I had. If it wasn’t for Serge and his incredible presentations on whole body intelligence, I am sure I would still be suffering with a whole range of unpleasant medical complaints.

I could write a book on my experiences of the intelligence of the body but right now my body tells me there are other things to do.

Published with the permission of my gorgeous partner… and Pedro.

PS. A few days after I wrote this blog I discovered we had purchased our wedding and engagement rings from a woman that also happened to be the mother of a close friend who has been a huge support to my partner and I. This was a beautiful confirmation of the fact that our bodies really do know far more than our minds.

By Leonne Sharkey, Melbourne

References:
¹ Clinical & Translational Immunology (2013) 2, e3; doi:10.1038/cti.2013.1
Published online 12 April 2013

Related Reading:
Listening to your body
Whole Body Intelligence – it Lives within us All
The Body is Intelligent

598 thoughts on “What Does My Body Know?

  1. I find it intriguing that many of us, myself included, live most of our lives in our head, seeing our mind as the receptacle of our knowing and our body as something needed to get through life, and it is not until our life goes astray through our minds choices that we can even contemplate that our true wisdom resides within our bodies, is ever present, and more than willing to share its intelligence.

  2. Imagine growing up with the understanding that our bodies are intelligent and we have access to the wisdom of the universe if we allow it. What different lives we’d live – not in the pursuit of knowledge or kudos, but in harmony with what we know is there to do, and in our own unique expressions and timings.

  3. I too have come to know that “the body never gets it wrong”, but it’s the mind that is the one that leads us very cleverly away from the truth. After not trusting the messages from my body for most of my life I am now loving the connection I have rebuilt with it; a connection that offers me a constant hot line to the truth.

  4. Wise words indeed Leonie;
    “The intelligence of my body is available to me in every moment and every movement. I can hear it loud and clear when I take good care of it”.
    Take good care of it yes, and accept the responsibility to listen and respond with love light and power.

  5. There are certain poor choices I have made over the years that I have felt, I could never give up. But then as I open up to more care and self love these choices no longer feel appealing, which shows to me the benefit of just taking care, and allowing the body to signal the rest of the way. Our only job is to pay attention to this whole body intelligence.

  6. I am still developing how to live completely within the wisdom of my body. It is a wonderful learning and as I observe myself I get to know what expands my body and being and what contracts it.

  7. It’s always a treasure when I honour my body in full – and when I don’t I feel how our body has to catch up for us.

  8. I love this blog. My mind still wants to rule the roost a lot of the time and yet I know that the body has an intelligence that we can rely on and the more we honour the body and it’s wisdom the more is revealed.

  9. What does my body know? Well it knows everything about me for example, when I am tired, when I am depleted, when to eat and what to eat, when there is danger around etc. Any resistance then to being in the body is an avoidance of being the grandness that we are.

Leave a Reply

