Energetic Responsibility

I was brought up to be ‘responsible’ and to have an awareness that how I acted affected other people; as the eldest child, there were expectations that I took on – that how I behaved had an impact on my younger siblings. Doing the ‘right’ thing was important even if no one else knew you were doing it. I prided myself on being honest and pointing out, for example, if a shopkeeper had undercharged me, but in reality, I was often very irresponsible in how I took care of myself and also how my frequent disregard for myself and my wellbeing impacted all those around me. Not just because other people had to pick up some of my responsibilities, but also in the irritability and other behaviours that I imposed on others.

The energy that I allowed to flow through my body and out to others was not loving, and choosing to look at this quality of my energetic output (i.e. my energetic responsibility) has been a humbling and uncomfortable experience. Being more aware of what it means to be truly responsible – and recognising that how I am in life has an impact on others – has uncovered a range of behaviours that I had successfully ignored for a long time. I have hidden behind an angry/battling persona for much of my life and often had this reflected back to me, which led to many misunderstandings and complications and feelings of being a victim of others’ emotions.

Accepting my responsibility that everything I say, do or think affects everyone else has completely changed how I approach life. Once it was presented to me that on entering a room, anyone can feel (if they choose to) what has been happening there – e.g. if there has been an argument, or if there has been a loving exchange, I became more aware of how often I had imposed my feelings and emotions on others and looked for them to side with me, against whomever I was in conflict with.

The more I have become aware of my own patterns of behaviour and irresponsibility, the more I have recognised it around me. We each have rights and responsibilities within our communities and this reflects how we are as individual nations: the way I and my fellow citizens choose to live has an effect on how the country we call home is. Changing ingrained patterns of behaviour can be challenging, but it is our energetic responsibility to reflect to others the loving choices we can make every day: we can continue to strive for personal gain whatever the impact on others, or we can lovingly choose to work together for the benefit of all.

There is a wider energetic responsibility currently playing out in many countries around the world. For too many of us there has been a comfort in feeling hard done by in the circumstances we find ourselves in, with a complete absence of any sense of having contributed to our current predicament.

I was appalled by the UK’s vote for Brexit, having been a passionate European since spending time living and working in Germany during my early adult life. However, I was not totally surprised. I could feel how I have contributed to the disconnection around me of so many who feel left behind and blame ‘outsiders’ – e.g. refugees or immigrants – and also politicians, whose lives are far removed from their everyday experience of struggling to get by.

Being energetically responsible is incompatible with casting yourself in the ‘victim’ role, as either an individual or as a nation. It is only when we start to feel how we are living, and commit to making choices that support ourselves and others to live in a way that is not harming, that we can become more aware of how it is to live with Energetic Responsibility.

By Helen Elliott, Ipswich, UK

Related Reading:
The Wizard of Omaha
The Freedom – Responsibility Connection
Taking responsibility at work to a whole new level

Spara

Spara

477 thoughts on “Energetic Responsibility

  1. A great expose Helen of the ways of the human spirit that lives within us all. Under its rule we choose a version of ‘responsibility’ (looking good to please others) to mask the ill choices we have chosen to live that are not in keeping with the love we have withdrawn from. This is the ultimate act of (energetic) irresponsibility and one we have all played ball with.

    1. Well said, Liane. Most of us have chosen a version of life that ticks the boxes of what appears to be responsible by society’s measures, but in fact we are all settling for what is indeed a far cry from the pure divinity of who we truly are.

  2. The irresponsibility in this world and with all of us is enormous and something that could change so simply by acknowledging the true responsibility we all have and to allow ourselves to feel all we feel instead of numbing this as it is too much. True responsibility and love would grow for us all and the world and Universe we are all part of. Serge Benhayon and Universal Medicine are bringing the Energetic responsibility, integrity and the truth of what is going on and true love back to humanity for us all to see.

  3. We only have to look around us at the state of our political world, that level of disasters and social chaos to see that we have lacked responsibility for a very long time and that the outcomes of the irresponsibility are playing out all over the place today. We have just seen a tragic huge loss of life in a terrible fire here in the uk, and people want to find out who to blame – either politicians or those on the ground that made decisions about safety in the history, but in the end we are all responsible, and it has effectively happened to us all, as with all things.

  4. To be aware of the world and my contribution in it means nothing to me unless I truly understand what it means to live responsibly with self. It is an unfolding journey to live energetic responsibly with self but every move I make towards it is not to be discounted or dismissed but appreciated in every way.

  5. Absolutely Helen, . . “Accepting my responsibility that everything I say, do or think affects everyone else has completely changed how I approach life.” . . . mine also for I can no longer blame anything on anyone or any situation as everything is a reflection of everything I do say and think.

  6. Every day there is an uncovering of something where more responsibility is called for and this will be an ongoing unfolding process as we peel away that which we put in the way of seeing clearly our part to play in something.

  7. Responsibility can be deepened every moment. What was of a lesser responsibility or irresponsibility lived is a moment we have chosen and stood by. If it is a moment we have also allowed ourselves to feel its consequences, we can choose how our next moment to be. Responsibility is there simply when we take the steps to live it, it does not need for us to think or promise how responsible we have to be.

  8. Yes, Helen. We can take a position in life such as being a victim, and use every experience or challenge to confirm its validity, when really we are just using it as an excuse to not be more responsible.

    1. Yes not be more responsible and not take the lead in our lives. We sit in comfort waiting for someone else to live it for us. Then we blame them when the wheels come off and it gets uncomfortable because there is no true foundation.

  9. Great point that our personal level of responsibility that we choose on a daily basis in our lives has an impact on a much larger world scale. We think we don’t make a difference but energetically our actions accumulate and congregate to form the bigger picture which then reflects back to us the level of responsibility we are choosing to live with each day.

  10. I never truly understood energetic responsibility until I made a choice which brought my body into a devastated condition. When I saw why I took this choice I understood it was not a loving choice. Energetic responsibility is to then stop and change what I now know is not true, to listen to my body and honour it.

    1. I find it interesting how many of us need to be brought to our knees before me make a stop – that can only mean that we have ignored and/or pushed through a lot of signals from our bodies before we got to that point.

  11. It is another whole level of responsibility when we realise that the quality of movements, thoughts and actions all can have a impact on others.

  12. “Being energetically responsible is incompatible with casting yourself in the ‘victim’ role, as either an individual or as a nation.” Being responsible is both incompatible and also the healer of feeling like we are the victim of everything. Being responsible is often seen as annoying or hard but hey it is the answer to our woes. If we have obesity we have to look at how we are eating, why we are eating, what we are eating, when we are eating but also how we think during the day, how we move, how we put ourselves to bed – in the end this is the only way to change and we know but are we willing to be this honest?

  13. Part of this responsibility is to let go of the self and recognise that the true purpose of my life is to serve for all of us and not only for myself or a few I know well, which I might be naming family or close friends. No it is also about my neighbours, all people in the city I live in, the country I live in, the continent, the world. I can go on for a while and probably would end up somewhere at the borders of the universe if they would exist. That said, it is absolutely not about myself but about everything we are a part of, we all are equally responsible for.

  14. If responsibility means to understand deeply that we live in a human body and by detecting that we realize we are far more than that what kind of responsibility do we live then in the moment on earth?

  15. To be responsible is really only being in line with the natural order and flow of life and yet we are so determined to go against it for our own individuality.

  16. The current situation of the world is a true representation of what most are choosing to align to, and that is mainly for that of self-gain and not for the good of all which comes from living with a level of energetic responsibility in line with the pull of evolution back to soul.

    1. True Francisco – our current way of being really advertises the fact that irresponsibility doesn’t work.

  17. Its a pity we have not been taught about energy, and energetic responsibility in school or growing up in the family unit, as understanding life from an energetic point of view would raise the standard of relationships with ourselves, between people and countries.

  18. I have been really exploring this one lately – “not just because other people had to pick up some of my responsibilities” – and seeing how when I drop the ball on responsibility, I am really asking someone else to pick up for me. An example might be a job that I am procrastinating on, and I put it off, and then it causes stress for myself and other people, and that is irresponsible. People are now using their time and energy to fix my problem. And we seem to have an issue with handing it back to people – the responsibility that is. We all jump in to fix things.In the long-term (and often in the short-term) that does not serve.

  19. If you live energetically responsibly you cant be a victim, as you say Helen. We each have a part to play in everything that happens, and we must energetically choose truth, observation and love and build a foundation where we lead the way in not getting caught up in either the perpetuation of abuse or the victimhood in that.

  20. How true it is that we can move around life, soiling the environment in which we live with disregard for all others or we can take responsibility for the immediate and flow-on effect we each have on all others, all of the time and offer inspiration rather than stagnation and lack of care.

  21. When we make responsibility about our body, what food we allow, what thoughts we allow and how we move – then, naturally, our responsibility is to everyone and everything. In other words, we start with ourselves to know the potential of how energetically responsible we can live, and then we have the clarity to feel how our choices affect everything else.

  22. “For too many of us there has been a comfort in feeling hard done by in the circumstances we find ourselves in, with a complete absence of any sense of having contributed to our current predicament.” this has been true for many, but when we stop and start to take true responsibility we can see our part in all of this and the choices we have lead. So it really starts from us taking true responsibility for our choices.

  23. When we make responsible choices to give us a good feeling about ourselves and show others how “responsible” we are, we are living for “out there”, and often for recognition, taught by rules of how we should behave. True responsibility is learned from within, in our relationship with ourselves, as we grow to know the values we know are true for us and are able to express them in every way in all of life.

  24. When we are living energetically responsible there is a living knowingness that no matter who anyone is, we are all the same and deserve the same love and care.

  25. Love, truth, harmony and oneness with all others, nature, God and the Universe are our natural essence. From this place responsibility toward others and in life is natural, even the deeper level of energetic responsibility.

    Ironic that we train our children to focus so much on personal accomplishment, competition and admiring possession of accolades, fame and material goods, to the extent that quality and personal responsibility are hardly paid attention to and then – when we grow up – we have to gee ourselves up in order to accept more responsibility which we have stopped seeing as something natural but view as a burden.

  26. I have spoken to many ‘eldest children’ over the years and felt the burden and heaviness they felt as a kid being ‘responsible’. Often they are made to feel responsible for the actions of their sibling, something we actually have no control over but are led to believe we do. This often sets up a life of over responsibility towards others, with an equal amount of disregard towards self. Otherwise it can result in rebellion and avoidance of true responsibility. Either one doesn’t allow us to feel the joy and purpose of true responsibility.

  27. “Being energetically responsible is incompatible with casting yourself in the ‘victim’ role, as either an individual or as a nation. It is only when we start to feel how we are living, and commit to making choices that support ourselves and others to live in a way that is not harming, that we can become more aware of how it is to live with Energetic Responsibility.” This is so spot on,what is most profound Helen is how you highlight the personal aspects and build it out to how we effect all on a worldly scale. To show us just how important our simple everyday choices are for the whole world we live in.

  28. The beautiful thing about energetic responsibility is that one’s commitment to it can only stem from a deep love of self and all others.

  29. I have set my standards so that at the very least I am responsible in the most basic physical aspects. From there I can build and build my greater awareness and accept the wider responsibility.

  30. From my heart I can feel all the times in life I have been responsible only if it suits me and this does not serve anyone else. My life is full of being kind to please others, fully with the expectation that one day I would receive something in return. This is being totally irresponsible as is anything else that never fully takes into account will this serve everyone equally, which includes our personality that has many hidden agendas. Could it be that by making everything evident and open we are bringing ourselves closer to the Love that comes from our inner-most?

  31. To cast the blame or to play the victim is such a common response to life so to not have to look at our own lives. Being called to be Energetically Responsible brings in a whole new level of viewing life. At first I didn’t want to go there it all seems too hard and that I couldn’t get away with what ever i wanted to do. Because I now know that energy is flowing in and through me all the time, and because I know I am not always choosing to be responsible I make it into a big thing. When I am being fully energetically responsible then it is amazing how empowered, light and up beat I feel.

  32. The responsibility we all hold for our energetic awareness is immense and is something we have not wanted to see but its is no longer possible to hide from.

  33. To say we are powerless is the ultimate irresponsibility, nothing is not because of us , whether it is in our personal lives or on a grander scale such as politics. I have often turn my head in dismay and criticism thinking there was nothing I could do but I now realise that it is up to me, and no one else, to choose responsibly and lovingly, to express this outwards and get active when I feel something needs to change.

  34. One of the big markers of responsibility for me was when Serge made us aware that accepting that everything is energy means accepting that in truth there are no walls, no private space or moments, in which we can do as we like thinking it will not affect anyone. We are all connected and every movement is felt by all, whether we want to know this fact or not.

  35. Energetic responsibility takes responsibility to a new level or rather sets the mark for where it should be. We don’t often consider that our thoughts and actions affects others and quite simply they do. This can be quite a joy to work with once we have determined a soul full quality but is difficult if we are not prepared to let go of our individual desires.

  36. There is such a game at play within ourselves to sabotage this awareness as well. I know it is my responsibility, I know that what I choose affects others, but there is an arrogance sometimes that means I do it anyway. I feel very humbled by my arrogant choices yesterday that I now need to walk through. I am deeply appreciative of the reflection and reminder these blogs offer.

  37. Once we begin to understand Energetic Responsibility, there are as you say Helen many uncomfortable moments, as we become increasingly aware that we are not hiding our ill behaviours and that they can be felt by everyone – all over the world. For me it has been an enormous wake up call to realise that I was not so clever and devious in playing a double role – always smiling on the outside and seething on the inside. What a great sense of release as we let go of pretending and accept that we can make a difference in the way things turn our both personally and on the world wide stage.

  38. Great article, thank you Helen. How many of us carry around an irritability towards others and behaviours that are far from truly loving and wonder why we have difficulty in relationships? Only when we get honest enough to to not only see this but take responsibility for it can we begin to heal and bring a lovingness to our interactions. These day to day activities may seem insignificant but as you say everything has an impact on everything else and as we change our ways in our community so that echoes out and we are then talking nations and beyond.

  39. If we are encouraged and taught about what it is we are feeling and not to shut this down then we get a greater understanding of what is going on around us. This supports us to be able to observe and not absorb and we start to live the truth of who we are.

  40. Thank you Helen, for sharing that our willingness or resistance to embrace our energetic responsibility is what constitutes the quality of the society we are met with. It is no mistake or consequence that we are living in the current climate of continuing and worsening abuse, corruption, war and declining health and well-being of young and old, when we ourselves are not willing to be honest with the quality of lives we are living, the way our bodies feel, and instead continue to seek a quick fix and to blame the world around us. We never can escape our energetic responsibility as our every choice is reflected to us through our bodies, in the lives we live, through all our relationships, all of which shapes the world we are surrounded by. When we are willing to connect to the truth, that we are energetic beings, and that it is the love of our Soul that truly defines who we are, we become more and more aware that our choices are the end result of the quality of vibration that we are surrendering to and any given moment. For as we can see lovelessness is not serving us well, as it is only love that will support us as a humanity to live the full potential of who we innately are.

  41. Being responsible for the quality we do everything in takes it much deeper than merely what we do or say to another, hence it is not about looking the part but living the whole.

  42. “Accepting my responsibility that everything I say, do or think affects everyone else has completely changed how I approach life.” I can relate to this too, it is the responsibility that creates the stops and gets you to feel and think.

  43. ‘The more I have become aware of my own patterns of behaviour and irresponsibility, the more I have recognised it around me’. So true Helen, it is interesting how we can all keep each other stuck and confirm our irresponsibility to each other by ignoring it exists, and when we make the choice to be more energetically responsible and aware we reflect and confirm to others the power and love felt when we live this simple truth.

  44. ‘I have hidden behind an angry/battling persona for much of my life and often had this reflected back to me, which led to many misunderstandings and complications and feelings of being a victim of others’ emotions.’ Our relationships are often dominated by reflections and reactions and we don’t always know how to handle the strong feelings and emotions that are present. Staying gentle within ourselves, focusing on our breath is what helps.

  45. For many of us we simply do not want to hear or know the abhorrent wars, crimes, murders, rapes, tortures, corruption, lies, deception, acts of terror, domestic violence, abuse and lovelessness in general that currently goes on in the world. Worse though is that we generally want to ignore it if it is not affecting us and while we may not be the direct cause, by saying nothing and not even wanting to see it is the very thing that allows it to run in the first place.

  46. “Accepting my responsibility that everything I say, do or think affects everyone else has completely changed how I approach life.” Imagine if we were taught this in school, seriously, it would make us, well enable us, not make us, look at life so differently. Not just from our own patch of life. That everything we do, so or think affects everyone!! That is true energetic responsibility.

Leave a Reply

