The Perils of Comfort

Recently I have been reflecting on the many ways I have sought comfort in the past, and I realise how for most of us these would have been considered normal ways of living. I am becomingly increasingly aware of the dullness in my body when I choose many of these comforts now, but there are times when I still make choices that are not fully supportive for me.

With a deepened honesty and awareness of the truth of how I am living, let me share the many ways I have been in comfort.

I now feel I am in comfort when:

  • I pride myself on having a diet that is dairy and gluten free but do not heed how my body truly feels when eating these foods.
  • I create sugar free recipes that use dried fruits and other ‘sweeteners’ without acknowledging that I am still craving something sweet in order to numb myself to what I am truly feeling.
  • I buy a ‘treat’ for myself just because I have had a very busy week and I feel I deserve this.
  • I use the excuse of needing to connect to a friend I may not have seen for a while to take time out to see a movie which I can feel is emotional and of little substance, or to go shopping with little real purpose.
  • I can list all the Universal Medicine courses I have been to, or the ones I am going to go to, without really living each day what has been so majestically and practically presented to us.
  • I am mindlessly flicking through the magazines at the checkout aisle in the supermarket as I wait to be served – checking out at the checkout!
  • I feel that I earn enough money, live in a nice home and have great friends and yet I never question whether how I am living is evolving/growing me and those around me.
  • I feel proud of my children because of what they have achieved and how they present themselves, without questioning whether I am allowing them to be on their own journey in life and graciously accepting the choices they are making.
  • I feel better because someone else is going through a bad time or has made less than desirable decisions, and hence I may feel that they are not as ‘evolved’ as I am.
  • I give financially to a charity or disaster appeal and feel that I have done my part without actually reading and understanding why this disaster might be happening in the world.
  • I feel great after a walk in nature and do not acknowledge that I spent a good deal of the walk thinking about other things.
  • At times I have sought comfort in the personal connections with others, rather than appreciating my own inner gorgeousness and the equality of the connection.

When I am in comfort I can feel that there is no call for me to be ‘more’ in how I am living or to strengthen my connection to myself and to God. I am holding onto the status quo as I feel good and I have ticked all the boxes for a ‘good’ life.

I am noticing that when I am in comfort and am choosing to not feel the call of my heart, I get restless and irritable and start blaming others around me for how I am. I feel an unsettlement in my body and can be very self-critical in my thoughts.

At times I still make choices which dull my body but do so without judgment or condemnation of my choices; rather I appreciate the deepening awareness of how I am living and of the roadblocks I intermittently put in the way of having a deeper and more loving connection to myself and the sacredness that can be found in that connection.

I am a forever student committed to reconnecting more fully with my inner-self and my world family, and deeply appreciate and feel huge support from the teachings of the Ancient Wisdom that Serge Benhayon presents for us all, if we choose to feel the truth of what is being shared.

By Anne Hishon – a gorgeous woman, a loving mum and partner, compassionate nurse, Tauranga, NZ

Related Reading:
The Big Picture of Saying No to the Small Print
A Comfortable Life versus a True Life
Are We Evolving OR Indulging?

Spara

Spara

Spara

Spara

690 thoughts on “The Perils of Comfort

  1. The opposite of comfort in the way that it is described here is not discomfort but describes a life of awareness. A life of awareness is a life worth living.

  2. Comfort is that which offers a quick fix or instant relief from the tensions of life, it is an illusion that can only be broken through our commitment with the pull of evolution, as when we live that way we know that there is no self involved and that everything we do is for the good of all.

  3. What really struck me reading the list of ways you have felt comfort Anne is how dishonest we are in these situations. We are lying to ourselves in all of these situations and every other one when we are hiding the real intention behind what we are choosing to do in that moment. There can be no honesty in comfort, let alone truth.

  4. Comfort is deeply embedded in our society and it can take many surprisingly different forms… what we know, and what we are used to, from the extremely dysfunctional to things that look quite normal on the outside.

  5. Comfort is a very interesting thing and it does not have to be the comfort we often imagine – the rich family with big house and loads of cars. Comfort is different for each and every one of us, it keeps us caped and reassures us that we don’t need to change, even the homeless person can find a level of comfort in living on the streets.

  6. Comfort indeed covers many subjects and activities. It becomes more easy to stop doing things for comfort once we feel how awful comfort feels in our body, compared to the light we could be in when we choose responsibility.

  7. With deepening honesty, we start to notice how deceitful we have been, and sometimes I wonder if I am being too hard on myself, but your list reminds me that when life stops being about evolution, I am in comfort.

    1. This has really impressed me what you have shared here Fumiyo, “that when life stops being about evolution, I am in comfort, it puts my resistance to stepping up in the comfort zone,Yuk!

  8. When we are not honest about when we are caught in comfort we will continue to indulge in the trappings of it which cannot but stunt our growth as a human being.

  9. A great question is whether this activity or this choice fully supports me. Answering this question honestly lets us know what is appropriate for us here and now in our lives.

  10. I feel there is a lot of comparison in comfort, we plateau comfortably because we feel we are doing well, ticking all the boxes as you say, instead of feeling for ourselves where we are at in relationship to our own personal evolution.

  11. Anne, you’ve given me such a clearer understanding of what comfort is … how we are coasting along, there is no call to be more and in fact we are hanging onto something rather than expanding and saying yes to what is offered by life.

  12. Comfort is a type of movement whereby we make choices that help us to anchor ourselves around a point we do not wish to let go while at the same time help numb ourselves so we do not have to feel what we are doing to ourselves. It is a whole being decision.

  13. Any moment when I am not living in full commitment to myself and the All I am in comfort. Letting go of choices that are in comfort is a process and as I discard and let go of one I become aware of another.

  14. Just reading your first point as to when you are in comfort you start with when: “I pride myself on…..” – my feeling is that any time we pride ourselves on something we are in comfort because life is ever evolving and things have already moved on from what we prided ourselves on. Appreciating or confirming a true action or expression is a different matter.

  15. I have just realised that my resistance to getting a job and putting myself out there was because I thought I was too busy, I recently saw that it was just a way of comfort preventing me from going forward. Time to step up.

  16. It is ironic that comfort can be comfortable when in fact it is still hiding lived lies in our life. Imagine if comfort is comfortable then what grandness is possible when living truth?

  17. The thing is, the whole world is swaddled in comfort… So when we choose to not live in this way it’s like swimming upstream up Niagara Falls… Thing is… When we do choose it, we become the fish in the water who is not getting wet.

    1. Ha ha I love your analogy cjames2012, it does feel a bit like that for me sometimes, ‘swimming upstream up Niagara Falls.’ I am also discovering the many forms of comfort I fall for and create for myself doesn’t always feel so comfortable, and letting go of them often feels like a fight or struggle because a part of me is not ready to let them go. So, sometimes I get to swim upstream and sometimes I get wash downstream, it all depends on my willingness to let go of my comforts as to which direction I move.

  18. A poignant list of recognisable ways in which we can ‘do’ comfort – and the consistent factor in them all is the Self. When we’re in Self we have no focus on the bigger picture – humanity, the world, our community. But when we focus on true purpose, there’s never a pull towards comfort, only towards service.

  19. True comfort is to live who you truly are. What could be more uncomfortable than living less? Living less and choosing to not be aware of it and accept that feeling the tension of living less with no true joy and vitality in your life is normal.

  20. The list of comforts you’ve shared Anne from experience they don’t feel very comfortable in the long term, and I am beginning to see that they work in a way that then drives us to continuously keep seeking these comforts because they are never long lasting. So, when the comfort wares off, we tend to seek some more of the same types of comfort and this eventually create a level of tension in our body because they do not support us in anyway. True comfort is when we are no longer in need of seeking any form of comfort but are able to feel and live with a true settlement in our body to the best of our ability. So, for me when I can feel a need to seek comfort, it is a good point to ask myself why and look at what is really going on for me to be feeling this way.

  21. “When I am in comfort I can feel that there is no call for me to be ‘more’ in how I am living or to strengthen my connection to myself and to God. I am holding onto the status quo as I feel good and I have ticked all the boxes for a ‘good’ life.” I recognise this pattern – however I am appreciating that I do now clock it. I then have a choice as to how to move thereafter.

  22. Incredible powerful expression — nailing your comforts and yes you should appreciate that straightaway everyday. This I felt to my bones; ”At times I still make choices which dull my body but do so without judgment or condemnation of my choices; rather I appreciate the deepening awareness of how I am living and of the roadblocks I intermittently put in the way of having a deeper and more loving connection to myself and the sacredness that can be found in that connection.”

    This is so true — we are a master returning, so every step forward we can appreciate and appreciate our constant growing and every step we decide not to step forward, still is showing us something and we need to treasure ourselves in that situation back equally. Truly profound we can be in a way that is holding us – no matter what!

  23. “At times I still make choices which dull my body but do so without judgment or condemnation of my choices; rather I appreciate the deepening awareness of how I am living and of the roadblocks I intermittently put in the way of having a deeper and more loving connection to myself and the sacredness that can be found in that connection.”

    This is how true change comes about. Not through giving ourselves a hard time (seriously, what ever good has that done?!?!) but through appreciating what we have and looking with love and care about what we are putting up in the way to stop us from living from connection to ourselves, to others and to God.

Leave a Reply

