Making Space

Recently I was moving house and the first thing I needed to do was get rid of stuff I didn’t use anymore – no startling revelations here! I had accumulated a lot of things that I ‘paid good money for’ that I was reluctant to get rid of because I knew how much they cost me and I wasn’t going to get back anything like what I paid for them, so they just cluttered up my living space. As this was a process, it was difficult to be aware of how this gradual encroachment was affecting me, however it became clear soon enough.

The first item I decided I could safely sell and not feel that I was throwing money away was a set of mag wheels I had bought for my previous car. They had been sitting in my hallway, brand new, still in boxes for about 18 months, never went on the car, never got used. I placed a free ad and got a call later that day. The next day I delivered them to the lucky guy and the deal was done.

I came home and stood in front of this distinctive space that had been filled with the 4 boxes for so long and what I could feel was actually more space within my body.

This feeling was a revelation. What was this space in me, which had been apparently filled up with those shiny mag wheels?

I started to realise that, like all of the other unnecessary possessions I owned, I had used them in the past to ‘fill’ myself up so that I didn’t have to feel the emptiness inside – that emptiness that comes from not being all of who I truly am. This feeling of emptiness is a tension, angst and an ongoing anxiousness that is masked with keeping busy or, as in my case, filling that emptiness with stuff. The new feeling of more space in my body is warm; I feel expanded, centred, not needing to do or be anything other than just breathe and be me.

So here was an opportunity to live more of who I am, looking after myself with all the care that I innately know how to do. All of the little decisions around food, what time I go to bed, how early I get up in the morning, how I drive, how I interact with others, how I allow myself to be seen, how I express, how accepting I am of other people, in fact, my every movement. This awareness of being more of who I truly am is a work in progress, as I let go of expectations of perfection.

Part of this is the understanding that it is my resistance to living responsibly that has delayed the action of allowing all of who I am to be a part of all that I do.

What also became clear was that I now had a new relationship with letting go of my unnecessary possessions. With the understanding of the space created within, how much I got for these unwanted items became an irrelevant detail; the feeling inside my body was more valuable to me than any amount of extra dollars I imagined I would get in some perfect selling scenario.

I have since thrown away, donated to charity and sold a lot of stuff that no longer was of any use to me – some absolute bargains there! It would be great to say that this process is finished, but some things are taking a little longer to let go of and I get the feeling that, as I evolve, there will be things that I use now, or feel I need now, that will become something to let go of at some point in the future. Therefore, letting go of unwanted physical possessions or old, unnecessary ways of being will be a process that continues for a little while yet.

There is no doubt, that to become more of who we truly are is a process of what we let go of, not what we add, as has been explained by Serge Benhayon on numerous occasions. I will always appreciate what has been reawakened within me from Serge’s presentations.

By Mark Payne

Related Reading:
Clearing Out Clutter – The Room at the Back of the House
Bringing Sunshine inside my Basement by De-cluttering

1,134 thoughts on “Making Space

  1. We’ve just spent the weekend selling things and giving things away on our local FreeCycle, and it feels great. What has also been shown to us is that where there was once resistance this has diminished somewhat, until that is, something has to be looked at and felt into and let go of on the next round of letting go – it is a process and for me I will admit it is taking far longer than it would if I doing it on my own, but still hanging in there and supporting. Personally I have never seen the point in collecting things or acquiring objects, so my level of understanding could be improved upon, but what has become clear is how things are often purchased due to feeling empty, or masking an emotional issue.

  2. I have a thing about throwing away food. I feel it’s wasteful, but my cupboards have got lots of things in them that we no longer eat. Time for a clear out.

    1. I do too, I came across food in the back of my cupboard yesterday which hasn’t been touched for years. I was surprised it was there and it felt great to discard it and feel the space it created.

  3. Of course letting go of our possessions that we no longer need supports us to let go of what we are also hanging onto within. This year has been one about letting go for me, letting go of security, creating space with letting go of possessions and my need for things to be a certain way. There is so much space which opens up within as I deepen this ever expanding process.

  4. Absolutely Mark, no doubt whatsoever. What you have expressed here is very inspiring; it is indeed our responsibility to let go of what holds us back from being and living who we truly are;
    “There is no doubt, that to become more of who we truly are is a process of what we let go of, not what we add, as has been explained by Serge Benhayon on numerous occasions”.

  5. Sometimes we delay our moving forward for we stubbornly hold on to what no longer serves or supports us. Having a stock take now and again can make us realise that there is a lot that is ready to let go of, we had just been too busy to notice.

  6. I love that the feeling you got from letting go of your unwanted items was more valuable to you than any monetary return… clearly space within and what we let go of to allow ourselves to be filled by it is priceless.

  7. This is a great blog Mark. I can so relate to your mag wheels in the hall way for 18month which made me have a little chuckle to read. It’s a great example of what is on the outer is also within. Being a cleaner I now even notice it with dust, which blows my mind. Because energy all is energy all has an impact on us.

  8. It really does feel good to finally let go of stuff. Physically clearing out stuff has an almost immediate affect on us energetically or at least that’s what I feel. And also, these days, when something breaks or for example my harddrive that had 3 years of travelling photos with my ex – just dies – I see it as sign that it’s no longer needed, not to block out the past by any means, but to close the door and leave it behind.

  9. It’s great to start or have this process on any level. There is an ever deepening or expanding detail to how the “making space” looks, what one day was a set of wheels could the next be a shirt on a chair. It’s not perfection but more based on a feeling of what is needed for you and the moment you are in. Being open to all the possibilities around you and not to how things look but how they feel. If anything is ‘out of place’ in respect to that feeling then it needs movement. It’s like cleaning at any point, whenever you clean on any level you feel it more and see the difference. If we take the time there is always something to do, it’s not racing around to get it done and then crashing but more feeling what is true for you in any day, in any moment and following through with that feeling.

  10. Having clutter and not claiming the space in a particular area of a room I have noticed recently has been a drain to my body yet even with this knowing I have done nothing about it. This is not to be critical with myself but to appreciate the awareness and to understand why I deliberately chose to harm myself in this way.

  11. The way we prepare our space is so important to how we feel and how our lives play out. For example, its so much easier to make clear choices when the space around us is uncluttered, or I feel more sluggish and less committed to life when my room isn’t tidy, these may be small moments however they add up to affect the whole big picture of our lives too.

  12. Filling the space around us with clutter is a reflection of our inner space and how we may be filling it with inappropriate food, emotions or stagnant energy.

  13. It is a beautiful process in which we can clearly feel what is not confirming our house as an honoring loving place and all that we feel that has a energy that just occupies the house is ready for the garbage and should not be sold. For example when we feel that a painting has emotions painted within it, it is not serving us so also it will not serve others.

  14. “unnecessary possessions I owned, I had used them in the past to ‘fill’ myself up so that I didn’t have to feel the emptiness inside – that emptiness that comes from not being all of who I truly am.” I can so relate to this, as I look around my home I can see how any unwanted things I have which are taking up space and do not feel true, I have been decluttering my home bit by bit, what I am finding is the more space that is created the more I need to go deeper in letting go.

  15. “So here was an opportunity to live more of who I am, looking after myself with all the care that I innately know how to do” wow Mark, its amazing isn’t it how many opportunities we are giving to be more of who we truly are.

  16. What you describe here is a great reflection of how we are invested into our lives and attached to what we have created and spend money = energy on. Subsequently it is a process of letting go to be able to move forward and into a greater way of living.

  17. ‘Part of this is the understanding that it is my resistance to living responsibly that has delayed the action of allowing all of who I am to be a part of all that I do’. It is great to be aware of our resistance and call it out for what it is, for what are we resisting, we resist being more love, how crazy is that!

  18. Its amazing what we put up with in our homes, waiting for that day when we will address something unfinished, or something we just can’t let go of, and then when the day finally comes and it is given away / sold / resolved… then we can’t believe we took so long. This tells us there is something more going on than meets the eye, and that something is energy.

  19. This is a beautiful article that clearly denotes the relationship between our homes and what we have in them and how we live in them, and our bodies. It is giving me a moment to ponder, could I read my body and its level of clarity by what I have in my space and how clear and supportive it is, or not. Mm. Thank you Mark, this is quite a revelation and one that I will explore more.

  20. Letting go of that which no longer serves us can be life changing as it creates space that can be filled with choices that truly support us in our own evolution from the food that we eat to the clothes that we wear to reflect what is needed not for self but for the whole.

  21. Recently my husband and I have moved house and got rid of a lot of stuff. Living in our new apartment we felt some more furniture was not confirming us and our house any longer. Trying to sell some expensive ‘design’ furniture brought up our belief that design would hold its value which was not the case at all. Design is just another illusion we can fall for and to let this go and just sell it for a low price or even give it away was in the end very supportive to do and made us and our home much more spacious and clear.

  22. I love how this turns our beliefs and ideals upside down – there is no point in seeking for ourselves in possessions or emotions, simply to let go and return to our innermost essence and there is no need to clutter up our inner or external space as it is filled with a very different quality.
    “There is no doubt, that to become more of who we truly are is a process of what we let go of, not what we add, as has been explained by Serge Benhayon on numerous occasions”.

  23. Thank you Mark! There always seems to be something that I am not ready to let go of also. I am sure I will progressively let go of many more items , a few things come to mind as I write!

  24. Every time we delay we allow things to build up and letting go of clutter is a great example of this. The children’s toys, books, clothes, my clothes, anything that is no longer used can be let go of but it can be very interesting the excuses I can come up with to get in the way of letting things go and therefore delay my evolution. But there comes a point when those items I have put together waiting patiently have to go. I am ready to let them go as I come to the understanding that there is no purpose whatsoever to hold onto to them.

Leave a Reply

