Honesty

Just yesterday I discovered that the English name for a flower that in Germany is called “Mondviole” is honesty.

This name is so very fitting in many ways:

Like honesty this flower is never the first thing to be seen: it is rather small, the flowers are not big and showy, but it is always present by its wonderful smell. When looking at its flowers, the first thing that comes to my mind is simplicity, delicacy and strength combined with absolute clarity – and that is what honesty is about for me.

Being totally honest regardless of how confronting this may be for me or another person, will bring the most amazing simplicity. If I am honest, I create the basis for trust in myself and this reflects to others, allowing them to trust themselves, trust me and open up. On this open basis of honesty the most amazing changes can blossom, just like the flower ‘honesty’.

When I am totally honest and open, I feel very delicate and vulnerable. Not only is this delicacy a wonderful beauty in itself, but the vulnerability I show is in fact incredibly powerful. I have come to experience, when I show all of me, including my vulnerable side, I do not have fear, because I do not hide and do not try to protect my seemingly weak points. I do not see myself as small and less.

The strength that comes from this is such a different reflection to the world than the small anxious version of me that said to the world “I am a victim, come and bully me, because then I can lament and hide away from all I do not want to take responsibility for.” A clever trick I have exposed by being honest with myself and allowing myself to feel and show all the beauty and wisdom that is there deep inside of me, just waiting to be shown again.

Like the wonder of this small intensely fragrant flower, honesty for me first and foremost is beauty.

If it is brought to a situation or to life in general, there may be massive changes. Sometimes there may also be struggles at first, that on the surface do not feel so very beautiful, but in the end they are just the masking of the full beauty that is to peel away underneath. The beauty of a changing life, of eyes lighting up, letting true joy, love and stillness shine out into the world again.

What a marvellous reflection nature can be.

By Michael Kremer, Personal Assistant, Buchholz, Germany

Related Reading:
My Connection with Nature
An Amazing Journey with Honesty and Expression
Writing in a Journal and the Power of Honesty

1,592 thoughts on “Honesty

  1. Love what you have so beautifully shared Michael “If I am honest, I create the basis for trust in myself and this reflects to others, allowing them to trust themselves, trust me and open up. ” honesty connects us to our divinity within, offering us a powerful reflection to others.

  2. This is a great reminder for the fact that we are never wrong and that even though we have not made many wise choices in the past it does not change who we are and the quality of choices we can choose to make in the future.

  3. Honesty is key to clarity in relationships, when we hold back anything that needs to be expressed it creates an unnecessarily complex atmosphere where we can all sense there is ‘something’ but don’t quite know what and react to the holding back. We hold back for fear of reaction but the result of holding back is far messier than simply expressing it in the first place.

  4. I love how you hold yourself up so beautifully to the magic and wonders of nature that reflect so much back to us. And honesty is extremely beautiful to hear from another and to express – it is humbling, inclusive, and the key to saying yes to having truth at the foundation of one’s life.

  5. I so love your ‘miniatures’ Michael, which hold the wisdom of the world and universe within them. I have only just been reading about the potency of honesty in Serge Benhayon’s book ‘Space’ where it talks about the vitalness of ‘honesty’ in addressing our collective will to be ignorant to all that we in fact feel but choose not to be aware of: ‘ Mankind need a huge dose of humility. And this can only come from us being honest about all that is not right or true about human life. And this is how we will expose the you that is not the true you, thus exposing all that is senseless and unnatural to us in this plane of life we call human life’. (p. 92)

  6. .’.. when I show all of me, including my vulnerable side, I do not have fear, because I do not hide and do not try to protect my seemingly weak points. I do not see myself as small and less.’ I sat a while with this experience of you Michael and it inspires me to open up myself everywhere and feel the fragility and at the same time the strength honesty brings.

  7. I too enjoy the reflection of nature and how at moments when I have taken stuff on or been affected by the day I can go for a walk and find that it supports me to find my rhythm again.

  8. Very befitting read for me today and I agree Michael, standing true to what we feel and is there to be expressed is a responsibility that is needed to be taken. Like you say it can be a bit confrontational for starters but in the end the purpose is to reveal the beauty that we have chosen to not live.

  9. ‘Honesty’ so beautifully symbolised by this tiny fragrant flower is a first major step towards coming to truth. Without honesty, which in itself is not truth, truth cannot come to light.

  10. I love the word honesty too Michael for it allows us to be open and clear in how we express. When we allow such honesty from our movements of expression we begin to unravel the raw, vulnerable and intimate parts of ourselves which allows us to grow. Honesty is the bridging foundation towards transparency and intimacy in all relationships and it is one word and movement that can begin to unfold so much for us all.

  11. Nature is the perfect reflection! In appreciating her we can appreciate ourselves, I love that we are made up of the same stuff of star dust it is such a beautiful thing to know, we are all part of the universe.

  12. It reminds me of the flower which is called in Dutch, Madeliefje, it is a very sweet name for a very small white flower with a yellow heart. This shows me the sweetness which is in me too. All nature’s details are reflecting us something if we are open to it.

  13. We cannot underestimate the power of honesty even in the most challenging of situations. What melts our hearts and thaws away the fortresses we put up in life is the open vulnerability of another; in that, we remember ourselves. The world needs this so desperately today, and this can only come with honesty as the first step.

  14. For me honesty is the key for true relationship, through honesty with self do we build a true foundation for a relationships with others, with a true foundation of honesty .

  15. “If I am honest, I create the basis for trust in myself and this reflects to others, allowing them to trust themselves, trust me and open up.” It is so true, when honesty is our foundation, it allows others to be honest and to open up and flourish equally so.

  16. The most wonderful thing about honesty is that it leads to truth and in truth you will always find love and simplicity.

  17. Being okay with feeling delicate and vulnerable in the world and being honest about what does not feel true / loving is very powerful, learning to live with grace and not reactions, while honouring what we feel is very healing for all.

  18. There is indeed an ever-present simplicity with living the truth – honesty is a needed step for us to move from the lies we have lived to the truth we all know.

  19. Being totally honest does indeed bring truth and simplicity; what a wonderfull simple and powerful lesson for us all, thank you Michael;
    “Being totally honest regardless of how confronting this may be for me or another person, will bring the most amazing simplicity”.

  20. Honesty carry an openness, a vulnerability that does not deem ourselves less and it is an expression and action of intimacy very naturally expressed from the heart. Often honesty is not treasured or appreciated enough as it does not have the appearance of having everything in control and hence professional according to society’s standards, and this is a reflection of how our world is at in regards to deepening intimacy and connection.

    1. Many words and actions have been bastardized to mean something completely different to what they truly mean… hence we miss out on the magic of reflection and true expression when we walk in the false meaning. Listening to men today share how much they have held back in fear of being ridiculed for being vulnerable and intimate with another, you see how much the true expression of honesty is so needed.

  21. As I read these words how beautifully they describe honesty “the first thing that comes to my mind is simplicity, delicacy and strength combined with absolute clarity – and that is what honesty is about for me.

  22. “If I am honest, I create the basis for trust in myself and this reflects to others, allowing them to trust themselves, trust me and open up.” This has been true for me, the more honest and open I have been with others, the more I have felt the trust from others, which has allowed them to open,

  23. “When I am totally honest and open, I feel very delicate and vulnerable. Not only is this delicacy a wonderful beauty in itself, but the vulnerability I show is in fact incredibly powerful” Beautifully inspiring, how powerful when we fully embrace honesty and openness.

  24. I was spell bound by your writing this morning Michael, particularly this section – “If I am honest, I create the basis for trust in myself…” Mostly because I am re-connecting to the fact that we feel everything that goes on around and inside us. We feel it, but often we don’t want to to feel it because what is going on may not match what we want it to, we may hold a set of pictures or ideals/beliefs around that block us from reading what we feel….so we react and can pretend its not happening – bury it with work, food, alcohol, drive etc… But when we are honest, and feel what is there to be felt, it builds an honesty with ourselves. Beautiful.

  25. There is great majesty in honesty for it is the gateway to truth… which allows the world to see through the veil of illusion it has been fooled by and step forward with a knowing and purpose of how to transform what has come before through the lies.

  26. Nature offers us so much in way of reflection, and I always feel left alone by nature. When we are honest it offers ourselves and others an opportunity to not continue to be affected by something that is maybe false or unloving.

  27. Honesty is the freedom to bring our full expression to the world and not hold it back, as it is the greatest movement and choice to be real, vulnerable and intimate with not only ourselves but others also. From here we see great connections and growth in all facets of life.

  28. I love the layers you mention Michael, and how choosing honesty is a beautiful start, like opening your eyes, instead of being in the dark. But then the next step is to question what it is exactly we see. Is that a mess of stones before your nose, or a diamond in a nest of pearls? A bunch of weeds or a flower with the most beautiful petals? Looking closer helps us be more open and honest and arrive at what lives underneath – the universal truth of everything.

  29. Beautiful described Michael: ‘What a marvellous reflection nature can be.’
    I deeply can enjoy to hear the birds song. It can touch my heart and confirm my knowing that heaven is there and the endless love behind.

  30. Michael the level of honesty and transparency you share in this blog is beautiful to read – a gorgeous quality that inspires and supports others to also make this loving choice.

  31. Yes, it’s absolutely true that when we are honest with ourselves, we really allow others around us to see it’s ok, and not such a scary thing and that when practiced is actually enormously freeing.

  32. It is always so refreshing to be around people who are honest. There is a safety that is created and it is also a lot of fun because it inspires everyone around to be honest as well.

  33. What a wonderful expression of honesty Michael, very inspiring, thank you;
    “the first thing that comes to my mind is simplicity, delicacy and strength combined with absolute clarity – and that is what honesty is about for me”.

  34. How I love simplicity! The simplicity and beauty of your writing Michael. So refreshing amidst a world of complication.

  35. It is so, so lovely to read the words of a man expressing tenderly. It breaks the mould of how we think men ‘should’ be. Michael is as beautiful and delicate as the flower of which he speaks.

  36. For me honesty allows for surrender, for once I be honest, there is no need to hold my body in tension and defence, hence my body relaxes and surrenders to simply being itself. The honesty in simply being one’s self is reflected, as Michael shares here, constantly in nature. I have never seen a tree trying to be another tree, or an animal, so why do we contort our bodies trying to fit a belief or ideal that we are not?

    1. It’s true Leigh, the tension just drops away when we are honest with ourselves and with this we can surrender more deeply into our bodies and our true selves.

  37. A very beautiful sharing Michael, and a great reminder for me in your words that we can choose to be victims and invite the world to bully us and in doing so, of course, we hide away and we do not take responsibility – a clever game indeed and one I’ve seen and can still see play out. I love honesty and the fact that around us in life are always reminders and reflections of it.

  38. I agree Michael, honesty is first and foremost about beauty; the beauty of being so unequivocally honest with ourselves and the feelings and harmony that flow.

  39. Through honesty and being willing to show our vulnerability we are able to return to trusting and claiming ourselves.

  40. To me honesty and love go hand in hand. How is one to find love if we can’t be honest that we were the ones that left it in the first place.

    1. Yes that is the crunch Kim. In the truly loving one there is a deep humbleness, like this beautiful little flower.

  41. It’s so true that we build trust within ourselves the more honest and transparent we become, both with ourselves and other. This trust emanates from us so others can trust us and begin to trust themselves too.

  42. What a beautiful and inspirational article to forever deepen our level of awareness and honesty with ourselves and with others.

Leave a Reply

