The Power of STOP

Today I experienced the power of STOP.

Lately I’ve had to deal with a situation where opposing views started to become evident, things seemed unfair and mentalities got narrow, and we were suddenly immersed in a scenario that I like to call “reason fights reason and reason proves wrong to reason.” Anger and frustration kicked in, leading soon after to unwanted consequences for all people and relationships involved.

I felt the pull to stop and I was able to easily let go of my need to feed the discussion any further – which was already turning into an argument. I felt how the other person thanked me deeply for that. We both surrendered and it felt great in our bodies and also in the space we were sharing.

I don´t always choose to stop and I´ve seen many people that find it difficult too, as for example, in our day to day life: 

  • When we open our eyes in the morning, we don´t really stop before jumping out of bed. There is already a cascade of thoughts rushing us through our day ahead.

  • When we greet others, we rarely stop to connect to them by looking in their eyes and having a feel for who they are.

  • During busy days we don`t even stop to eat properly, but do so in anxiousness and in a rush.

  • We don´t stop between activities or when we feel tired because there is always so much to do next and we need to get everything done.

  • We get annoyed with other people that walk slower, or who are taking longer to pay in the queue. We rarely stop our irritation and keep projecting frustration onto their backs.

  • We don´t stop arguing because we don´t want people to take us for fools, and we have a need to put forward our point, avoiding at all cost the possibility of being hurt or humiliated.

  • We act in debilitating and sabotaging ways because we are unable to stop our negative thoughts and criticism.

The list goes on and we live in this non-stop vicious cycle of doing and demonstrating that we all have a place in this world through motion, being right and proving our worth through achieving and succeeding.

No wonder why, after so much motion, drive to attain, need to compete and defend our hurts, we people find it difficult to stop.

We are definitely immersed in a momentum that we have constantly fed with impetus, push, drive, force and attack.

  • Are we so addicted to the high we get from drama and upheaval?

  • Is our need to always sort things out first so insidious, no matter what state of being we are in?

  • Why do we want to make sure people never take us wrong or blame us; why do we need to get our point across and have the last word?

  • Could it be that on a deeper level we are invested in a goal outside of us, as a way to not feel the amount of self-loathing we carry and how little appreciation we have for ourselves for just being who we are?

Why is it that we find it so hard to surrender and become humble, and much easier to be pushy and disputatious? Why is it that we find it almost impossible and even disempowering to stop?

In my personal experience for example, many times I have found it almost impossible to stop and just recently I have accepted that one of my most painful characteristics was to be `driven´. It has been a way of doing things and going through life in total disregard of my body and others. It has been a poison to my body, and this drive has spoiled several new and old relationships. It has achieved nothing but ephemeral victories that have left me isolated, deeply anxious and disconnected.

Thanks to Serge Benhayon I have been able to introduce a very supportive quality as an antidote to this way of being, and that is gentleness. Gentleness as a bridge to find, feel, accept and experience my beautiful stillness within.

It is this quality that is really missing in today´s society because we don´t really appreciate stillness as much as motion, so we haven´t created that bridge and connection to that place within us – and mainly because we feel incapable to stop.

Why not start by considering the possibility that ‘to stop’ is actually not as difficult as it seems? STOP is a simple, resounding, punchy and powerful expression to bear in mind. It can be both a firm and gentle choice we can make wherever, whenever, as it has no prior requirements, no need to prove anything first or go through struggle, or even use strong will, fall into humiliation, or feel guilty.

If we only experienced more often how deeply empowering, corrective and simple it really is, many conflicts, separations, illnesses, arguments, and spoiled relationships could all be avoided, just by choosing ‘stop’ in an instant and pulling back. It is the door to surrendering which gives us the immediate possibility to feel gentleness in our bodies again.

The more we try it and choose to stop again and again, the more we will get to see the illusion we have created when trying to find our identity, worth and salvation in motion and turmoil. We all come from stillness, harmony and love, and it gets quite easy with time to stop, especially when we start realising that the entire universe really supports us to STOP!

I love the teachings of the Ageless Wisdom brought by Serge Benhayon and Universal Medicine. With deep appreciation and joy for these teachings.

By Luz Helena Hincapié, Bogotá, Colombia

Related Reading:

1,293 thoughts on “The Power of STOP

  1. Our unwillingness to stop comes from not wanting to feel the momentum we have been living in. Hence to stop requires an honesty to feel whatever is there to be felt, and this is often a bitter pill we choose to avoid.

  2. It’s these stop moments where we see the power of true connection within the honesty of our movements and it is from here we can either choose to meet and hold another or hold back. To choose honesty and appreciate the pause shared brings our connections to another level and that is the simplicity of feeling our stop moments and surrendering to all that is shared.

  3. Beautifully said, thank you kellyzarb. And if we choose to hold back that’s also fine for it shows us where we are at and allows us to deepen the love that we have for ourselves and the grace to move forward from there.

  4. After reading this blog yesterday, I was reminded to create more frequent stop moments in my day. I know how beneficial I find stop moments to be and yet I still forget to stop when I get caught up in rushing to tick things off my list and get them done. The thing I find with stop moments is they create space which then enables me to complete tasks without feeling exhausted at the end of them.

  5. It is good to read this as often we can go into right and wrong and in this we cut off from others even if we prove to be right. What you share is true, that the truth is to remain open.

  6. Queuing is an activity I now use to have a stop moment. Instead of getting frustrated I use the time to focus on my breathing and how I am standing.

  7. This blog is very confirming for me as I was just pondering on how driven I can be through my day and in my parenting at times, instead of allowing things to flow and unfold I can often be in control and can feel how imposing this can be on my body, I am now feeling inspired to be open to having more stop moments included as part of my daily rhythm – thank you for the awesome reminder.

  8. Without this stop you are sharing about, we live our lives in complete forgetfulness of who we are. And hence the emptiness that is dominant, and the longing for something outside of us to satiate this tugging emptiness that we feel. In those moments of stop, if we make it about coming back to the rhythm of our own breath, we then start to connect to our inner stillness… and we then realise that those stop moments are the beginning of the activation of our power.

    1. Absolutely- nothing in the outside can actually make you satisfied or happy, when you live your life from this source or “power”. The focus is actually constantly in the outside to fill the gap, between the disconnection within you.

  9. I love the word ‘ephemeral’ in this blog. How much value do we place on being right rather than being who we are? Being right is a short term ‘victory’ over another – but is it really worth damaging a relationship for? Are our connections with others not more precious than the momentary ‘stroke’ of recognition we get from being right?

    1. That´s a great question you are raising here Richard. The choice is accepting and saying YES to LOVE to ourselves and in effect to another in these moments or saying YES to supremacy and separation. I will remind myself of this, next time a situation will challenge this choice.

  10. Love the title ‘Power of STOP’ because we don’t always see it as being powerful but often as a weakness. When we stop and really look at what needs to be seen, quite often it will expose our lack of responsibility and care. To over ride this we seek to be right which may seem like a victory at the time but as you say is short lived and achieves nothing, and we spiral into confusion, isolation, desolation and separation all because we are not willing to stop and be honest at what is really going on.

  11. “many times I have found it almost impossible to stop and just recently I have accepted that one of my most painful characteristics was to be `driven´”. I can totally relate to this, and much of what else you share with us. I too am learning to build in more and more stop moments and lessening the drive. My body does such a little dance when I do that. It likes to stop and it loves less drive.

  12. I love this blog as it raises a lot. Society is in constant motion and so are we as mankind. The more we stop and take a moment to connect to our body during the day, the easier it will get to stop and observe, when something is happening that is challenging for us. I speak out of my own experience. I used to have a strong hook going into right or wrong or involving myself into discussion, which was very draining and hardening my body straight away. Since I do connect to the space around me, meaning, not acting and moving from my brain, my whole daily lifeflow changed.

  13. There is a huge avoidance of the stop because in the stop we would feel everything we are avoiding – in the stop we cannot but feel that the way we are living is a lie.

Leave a Reply

