Being Still – With Joy

A couple of weeks ago I had a moment where the love that I am, and the love that is around us all, felt very present. In this moment there was a strong sense in me to ‘Be Still’.

So for the past couple of weeks I have been practising just this. Stilling myself whenever my head begins to wander away from the moment that I am in, I gently return to my body and make the very clear choice to be still with it.

I’ve noticed since making the clear choice to practise my stillness that whenever I am racing ahead and don’t pull myself up, something little happens to bring me back to my stillness. For example, I bump my hip, or I get a splinter when putting wood on the fire.

The other day I had a flower that landed on the bonnet of my car – it was fully open and simply there: what a gift this was as it was right at a moment where a little doubt was playing with me and I wasn’t being very still. For some time I have been connecting to the beauty of nature and how it can and does interact with us, and this moment was one of those moments that confirmed deeply for me that doubt was not warranted. By choosing to be still again, I could feel the appreciation and deep love of myself that was there to be nurtured.

Whilst living this stillness has been super supportive, I began to realise that I had not been fully enjoying my days. I pondered on this and felt that choosing to be still gave me the opportunity to become aware of how vulnerable I had been feeling as a woman. To avoid feeling this vulnerability I found I was trying to manipulate and control everything; a constant anxiety was with me as I was not allowing myself to live the joyfulness that I know I am.

With this understanding I decided to enjoy my day, my self, the tenderness that I am and my stillness in full.

That day, my drive into town was exquisite. I felt fully connected to the world and to nature during my drive, and could see and feel with such clarity. I felt strongly that my place in the world is equally as beautiful and graceful, as was the awesome nature that I was driving through.

I had many places to go to in town and much to do, yet everywhere I went, from the mechanic’s to the grocery store, I found myself observing and enjoying many beautiful moments of tenderness with people. One moment/observation in particular touched me deeply: this was to see and feel the tenderness and grace with which a man placed his trolley back into the trolley bay. In the moment that I observed this I could feel the true power of living my stillness joyfully. By choosing to simply enjoy my day I was supporting another to choose to live the tenderness that they equally have within. Every part of the day flowed with such simplicity and grace.

Driving home I was reflecting on the beauty of having lived my day with such joy, and how natural it is to live this way. As I was feeling this, I looked up while stopped at a set of traffic lights and saw a pelican flying around and around in anti-clockwise circles. As I watched the pelican, I felt so clearly that everything in life is just fine the way it is, knowing that love is all around me, nature supports and holds me and that my way of being that day is my true way of living.

I could feel this so strongly and when I had a moment of criticism for myself for not having lived this way before, I was able to let these thoughts go. Self-criticism takes the joy out of living; the pelican and nature were a confirmation for me that life is to be enjoyed.

This experience has shown me that stillness is so very much needed, but to live this in full means to take one further step and to fully enjoy taking my stillness with me to everyone I meet, be that a friend, a relative, or a stranger in the street. By simply enjoying my day I found myself more aware of what was going on for others. More than ever before I could clearly feel the choices being made by others, but even more beautiful, I had a clear understanding of why these choices had been made and with this I could simply allow them to be.

Simply enjoying my stillness, my self, and my day felt absolutely divine and true. Living my appreciation in full has shown me deeply that I am to be celebrated and appreciated and even more so, that I have a purpose in the world. People around me felt my presence, and God and nature confirmed it. The understanding specifically for me was “Walking, fully of JOY and GRACE each day, is all that is needed.”

My deepest appreciation goes to Serge Benhayon and the Esoteric practitioners who have supported me over the past few years. Their dedication to truth and love is unshakeable, igniting within myself the very same unshakeable love.

By Leigh Strack  

Related Reading:
Stillness
Anxiousness, Stillness, God and Me
The Illusion of Happiness – Finding the Joy Within

1,454 thoughts on “Being Still – With Joy

  1. I am becoming so much more aware of the stillness within me now that I have changed my movements and walk with more presence…. slowly but surely I am observing I can be with this stillness for longer periods and I can feel the joy of just living this… there is nothing for me to do but just be me, so simple yet so very freeing.

  2. There is a depth of absolute delight and joy available by simply appreciating the connection we can have with ourselves. This is the quality we then choose to make our movements in so the delicious-ness is in the imprint we are offering back to humanity. I’m living more and more how this transforms any regular day into an extraordinary day.

  3. ‘By choosing to simply enjoy my day I was supporting another to choose to live the tenderness that they equally have within. Every part of the day flowed with such simplicity and grace.’ It is as simple as that but still I see myself sabotaging this simplicity and graces it can freak me out how flowing my life can be and yet the only thing I have to ‘do’ is just connecting deeper with this graceful stillness and love inside me and feel the purpose of reflecting it back to the world.

  4. When in connection to our bodies and the beauty that surrounds us we realize that the universe communicates endlessly reminding us of our power and magnificence and not to live anything else than that.

  5. The stillness you describe is palpable and the pelican confirmed it; nature and its symbolism are always there to support us, whether that is by way of confirmation or correction.

  6. Stillness is an uncommon state for most of us living in our busy lives, but it is a quality that brings immense benefit both for our physical and mental health.

  7. I love that through the stillness, you could feel and were able to embrace and have understanding of the choices you and others make and provide a space to observe and allow them to be… the beauty of this is something that should be celebrated and most definitely worth appreciating for the healing it offers in each step you walk with this as your foundation.

  8. Although we live in a body, we tend to wander outside of it. There is nothing like returning to our body and encountering the being through our stillness. This is the first baby step to return home.

  9. mmmm there is a reason I am reading this blog. It being I am currently avoiding my stillness and allowing myself to be all that I am as you were ‘To avoid feeling this vulnerability I found I was trying to manipulate and control everything; a constant anxiety was with me as I was not allowing myself to live the joyfulness that I know I am.’ I can feel though that soon I will be unable to ignore or override this.

  10. It does feel so amazing when connected to my Stillness. However if I don’t appreciate, enjoy or claim it as my baseline, as my normal it’s consistency drops off. Thank you for the reminder Leigh that appreciation is a key for consistency.

  11. Joy in life is very important and gives us the true opportunity to live the love that we are. It is coming from our inner stillness that is inspiring others to be themselves as well we all know how we can live but it takes courage to choose this, as it is often not appreciated to someone truly enjoying life. Which is crazy.

  12. Leigh, this is a beautiful blog to read. The stillness within you can be felt throughout the blog. Letting things be and ceasing the self bashing and need for perfectionism is the recipe for joy to return to life, emanating from sharing our true self with others and appreciating this in full.
    “Self-criticism takes the joy out of living”

  13. Beautiful to re-read your blog Leigh. “So for the past couple of weeks I have been practising just this. Stilling myself whenever my head begins to wander away from the moment that I am in, I gently return to my body and make the very clear choice to be still with it.” Stillness is a much needed quality in the world today. I find Esoteric Yoga a great support with building and reaffirming this, which i can then take out into my day.

  14. “To avoid feeling this vulnerability I found I was trying to manipulate and control everything; a constant anxiety was with me as I was not allowing myself to live the joyfulness that I know I am” – I can very much relate to this right now. I have noticed that when I am anxious or nervous my movement lacks space, there’s harshness and roughness, and what you say makes much sense to me – avoiding feeling vulnerability.

    1. Vulnerability is something that we really don’t want to surrender to and truly feel, as if we do we have to feel that we are not meant to live alone and be fully self sufficient. Instead we will feel the absolute truth of what living in brotherhood is actually about. To live allowing self to be supported by others and to be that same solid support for others. The one thing we all actually want, yet run a mile from as the responsibility of living life this way means there is no time to be anything, but the beauty and grace we are. Even in those moments in life where our world is seemingly being turned upside down. As it is our grace that will allow us to understand it and accept the support of others as we walk through it.

  15. It does make you wonder how many moments during our day that our body has offered little bumps and stop moments that we have moved straight past. The more we live the stillness within we more we hear the body talk.

  16. Feeling the stillness from the connection to our movements gives us a palpable awareness to the world around us and in turn how we connect in this quality too. Bringing consistency to our movements allows our bodies to expand and enjoy the natural flow of our rhythm and then how that connects to the world’s rhythm on a grander scale.

  17. I was smiling reading this and realised something really important stillness is not just an exclusive precious thing, it’s to be lived with a fullness with joy to be enjoyed with one and all. Thank you Leigh for this sharing – it is deeply appreciated.

  18. I had no concept that the way I was living was not normal till I started having sessions and felt my own raciness in my body. Those moments are so groundbreaking. The treatments are powerful because the practitioners are unimposing and therefore you are given an opportunity to feel yourself and what is no longer needed.

  19. In the moment of stillness, so much is presented, either the choice of past patterns, of the presentation of our future and exactly how to live it. Then it is our choice which we choose.

  20. I love how the body supports us when we are willing to open our awareness and listen to what it is communicating bringing us back to feeling our body and deepening our connection with ourselves.

  21. It’s funny how our mind can take us away on some wild goose chase of highs and lows but when we pull it up and connect to our stillness from within, it lays the foundation for a simplicity and grace for our whole body.

  22. Stillness is a connection to my body where there is no emotion running through the body. I feel the expansion from within me and an equalness with another and everything around me… a marker to support me that when I am not feeling this way I have allowed an energy or energies in that do not support me to be in the stillness of who I truly am.

  23. The ability to still the incessant thoughts in our mind and just simply deeply enjoy a moment and every possibility it offers us is a life-skill I reckon should be taught in classrooms globally, it’s pure magic.

  24. It is a moment of deep appreciation when another reciprocates with the same gentleness and stillness, when they are fully present with what they are attending to.

  25. Most thinking seems to lead to a lot of should or actual doing, when the activity comes from the shoulds it doesn’t have any space for true joy. Discovering stillness through connection to my body is the most divine way to en-joy all activities in a day.

  26. Gorgeous Leigh, to live in joy and to know that doing that changes everything around us, no effort required, just being the joy we are.

  27. Leigh a great piece to read today. I was reminded that whenever I choose to not be joyful or contract it’s a sign I’ve move away from stillness. True stillness shows the way and next movement, anything else is being controlled by mind.

  28. It is beautiful to have developed awareness to a deeper level and thus be able to express appreciation to the tenderness that others bring to daily things that they do. As our appreciation deepens, the amazing Magic of God Moments offer further confirmations of being on track on our return path home to our essence.
    “One moment/observation in particular touched me deeply: this was to see and feel the tenderness and grace with which a man placed his trolley back into the trolley bay. In the moment that I observed this I could feel the true power of living my stillness joyfully”.

  29. It is so noticeable when we go through phases of bumping ourselves or tripping up, the body is telling us we are not moving in a way that is in connection with it. When we are in rhythm with the body, there is a distinctive flow to be felt, where there is no force, but instead a gentle flow of grace.

  30. When we connect to our stillness we are inevitably connecting to all and that is a beautiful thing to consider because it shows how we are all equally capable of feeling that inner connection to soul and it is available to us in any moment if we so choose. Stillness holds us as one.

  31. Everything lies in our stillness – yet we spend so much of life avoiding it. Stillness is not about sitting still, it’s a quality and we can do many things in the quality of stillness.

  32. ‘Self-criticism takes the joy out of living;’ I have noticed how we find it much easier to criticise ourselves than we do to truly appreciate ourselves, when there is stillness in our life it is far easier to really appreciate how beautiful life is, and all those around us.

  33. Stillness can be a far cry when we are so used to living in anxiety, stress or overwhelm. Starting to observe life, observe how we feel and respond to life from there leads to a deeper relationship with the body and thus the gateway to living stillness.

  34. Leigh you have beautifully captured the process of coming back to living joy in every moment. We have so many momentums and patterns that we have allowed to run us and cloud the glory we could walk every moment. Bringing more stillness to our days exposes the many tricks we have played ball with to not walk and express joy in every moment.

  35. The loving connection to ourselves where we feel full of joy and embrace everything that comes our way is all that is needed to go about our day. Comparison about what another does, the money they may have or how beautiful they may look is eliminated as the primary focus becomes about connection to self and the impact this way of being has on the whole.

  36. I adore and love the feeling of stillness, it’s spacious, tender, all knowing, holding, warm, loving. It’s a space where one gets to feel the divine enormity of who they are.

Leave a Reply

