The Power, Play-full-ness and Truth of Words…

I wasn’t that hot at English at school, neither did I like writing, though that’s changed now. It’s not so much English or writing I felt to write about, but words, and how I have absolutely fallen in love with the playfulness, truth and power of words. Not in the intellectual sense of being a ‘know it all,’ or being able to recite or show off with a vast vocabulary of words: if I played a game of Scrabble I wouldn’t win because I’d be too busy loving words, having fun, and making up a new game.

What I love about words is the connection that I have with them and what they bring.

 

I feel how many words have something to share. At particular moments or times, words stand out like little beacons of light, offering me a chance to learn, appreciate, grow and confirm.

I love how I can feel words in my body, whether they are written, read or heard. Sometimes they make my whole body and every cell joyfully pulse and vibrate; sometimes as a confirmation of how I feel or who I am. At other times, they make me smile in absolute knowing as they reflect to me that there are things I need to look at in my life. And then there are the ones that make me process like heck because I know I am or have been avoiding them – not the words themselves, but the action they are calling for, such as the word commitment. But this is not a bad thing, I even love these words too as they are asking me to look at things I need to work on, let go of, or deal with in my life.

I love how the words we need to hear and feel simply appear, or tend to stand out.

 

For example, as a teacher, I may be asking the kids in class to be more responsible and the word ‘responsible’ stands out so clearly that I know it is asking me to step up and be more responsible too. Or when I keep saying a word and someone else picks it up and points it out to me.

Another thing I often find myself doing is having fun with the words I hear. I write down all the words that make my body pulse – words that stand out or that I connect to in some way.

What‘s funny is that they are often words that you wouldn’t associate with the lecture or meeting that is on, for example; ‘constellation‘, ‘light‘, ‘commitment‘, ‘relationships‘, the list could go on… it is amazing what is there to be heard when we truly listen.

When I read or write, I love the power of words and how they stand out. There is so much more being shared than just what we read or see. It may be words like ‘gentle‘, ‘light‘, ‘bright‘, ‘delicate‘, ‘still‘ or ‘fun’. Or how when I write, words come to me that I have never used before, or known their meaning, but I absolutely know they are the right word to use for what needs to be expressed in that moment. I’ll often find that I will write a word and feel “Nope, that’s not right”: this feeling comes from my body, not my head.

I love the power of words in their truth, and what they truly mean. This is not necessarily what we can read in a dictionary, as so many words have been bastardised and changed from their true meaning (such as ‘love‘, ‘truth‘, ‘religion‘, ‘beauty‘, ‘well-being‘ and many more).

I love how we can be play-full with words, hyphenating them, splitting them up as in ‘joy-full’ to share what we really mean and feel. They become so much more real and felt rather than just a flat word on a page.

The power, play-full-ness and truth of words never ceases to amaze me.

 

Inspired by Serge Benhayon’s absolute power, truth and play-full-ness with words.

By Gyl Rae, 37, Scotland

Related Reading:
Exposing The Evil Behind The Bastardisation Of Words
Could Words Be Used In A Different Way?
Words by Serge Benhayon…”Be Love”

995 thoughts on “The Power, Play-full-ness and Truth of Words…

  1. The energy with which a word is said makes such a difference to the impact it has – as in whomever is speaking the word and the context it is used in can change what is being communicated considerably. So two people could be using the same word ‘love’ but actually be saying very different things energetically.

  2. Bring playfulness and the power of expression of the truth of words back alive. SImply by expressing all that you feel on paper – how powerful is that. No place for anything else. Gorgeous to feel the strength that comes with our connection to God and our playfulness.

  3. I love what you have shared Gyl and the power of words in our lives and the feeling we get in our bodies at the sound of them. Sometime ago the word Responsibility kept coming up for me at which I would shudder, attached to those words were my childhood feeling of the burden of being responsible and if I wasn’t there was shame and blame attached to it. I discussed this with a friend who offered another meaning to that word, “what if responsibility meant joy” this stopped me in my tracks and opened me up to a possible new way of feeling with that word.

  4. Often we have different understandings of the same words even when we speak the same language as another. As a child I remember I always used to ask- what do you mean by that? Even though I had my understanding of the word I always wanted to check that it was the same as the other persons.

  5. Gorgeous Gyl, sounds that your expression goes hand in hand with your work , and that you even bring a , for many, new principle to teaching – body connection. Beautiful beautiful and as you said before – it is what is needed (or just right!)

  6. If everything is energy – as Serge Benhayon has presented – then so too are words. The words we choose and use are therefore as much a part of our responsibility as anything else.

  7. We have a responsibility to use and choose words wisely – or else we add to the pollution that is reinterpretation/ bastardisation and lies through word.

  8. I have always been very particular about the words I use when I speak. Its so important to me to make myself clear and not be misunderstood. I too love the sound and feeling of certain words. sometimes though I can get hung up on them. Many people don’t actually say what they mean, and then there is confusion, so I find I need to pay attention not only to the words but everything about that person when they are speaking so that I get the whole picture.

  9. When you can feel that a person is speaking from a place of truth i.e their words match their actions, that can definitely be felt.

  10. Word are truly amazing and fun to appreciate and play with – when we feel deeply what is needed and don’t write or speak to impress or paint a certain picture, when they come from the body first.

  11. The delight you experience with words is a pleasure to read and can be deeply felt in the way you choose to use them. Beautifully inspiring.

  12. I love what you have presented here Gyl. The power of words and the intention in which they are used, and abused, is certainly fun to play with.

  13. Absolutely Gyl, the power of words is super important, how we use them, what we feel from them and how we express them. Also as you say, the playfulness we can have with them too, not to always be serious, but be loving and expressive.

  14. The idea of a game of scrabble where you make up silly words is very appealing. I am sure lots of children would enjoy that much more than being forced to try and think of set words. Maybe our whole education system needs more of that kind of flexibility too, letting the individual expression out and not needing to get to a set answer. It might well transform the health and wellbeing of our young people to not be so constricted in their learning.

  15. “There is so much more being shared than just what we read or see.” – I agree there is energy behind the way any word is spoken or written that communicates a lot and this is something that is felt or known in our whole body, not just received by our ears or eyes.

  16. The way we can pronounce words, the quality of energy we put in the words can vary. That way the words can carry an energy which is an attack on the person spoken to.

  17. When we write, or speak, while connected to the body, we have this beautiful capacity to feel and choose the precise word, that is placed on the precise place, that has the precise meaning, one that resonates deeply with us.

  18. At school, studying English, I remember feeling pressured to memorise words and phrases and what they meant in my own language, and often times I didn’t get the correct nuance, they just became some data at best that were never put into practical use and not many of them stayed with me for long. Over the years, what I have learnt is that it’s so much easier to feel the words and what they mean energetically, rather than trying to memorise them by their translation – which probably would have been misinterpreted a few stages already anyway, as what the word means is universal and we do know what they mean even without knowing how to say that in our own language.

  19. Thank you Gyl, your blog has inspired me to to explore, ponder and feel the power, play-full-ness and truth of words.

  20. You make words come alive and that leads to more appreciation – when translating, it is not a question of quickly coming up with the correct dictionary term but really feeling into a word or expression and what it conveys on an energetic level.

  21. There is no doubt Gyl that you can feel the power of words when spoken in truth; as you say there is a playfulness and a vibration of love.

  22. It is interesting the common thread expressed here about when writing, the words we don’t know, have never used before and can’t spell are just the words that express what meant, just appear at our fingertips as we type!

  23. Gyl, you have certainly brought a deepening quality to words. Words are powerful and impact others in many ways – often the fewer words we use the greater the power and meaning.

  24. It is pretty cool to read a blog about someone really loving something in this world, and sharing why they lovie it. It cultivates the art of appreciation which we need much more in this world.

  25. Yes we have a responsibility with words don’t we Gyl? It is really easy to glide over that awareness and responsibility because we want to be ‘free to make our own choices’. Yet from the moment I realised the impact of my words and the consequence of what I say and how I say it, I have realised that words are very important and that I had a responsibility to not abuse them and to be discerning. I will forever be a student as there is always so much more to be aware of than I have chosen to be aware of.

  26. The nuances and slight differences in the meaning of words are magic, i.e. in the words ‘announce’ and ‘say’. And then there are slight changes that lead to a totally different meaning, as in the terms ‘of all time’ and ‘of all times’. It is very enriching and a lot of fun to find out and learn more and not ever should it be about being right or better educated, etc. The latter kills the enjoyment of words.

  27. Using words that feel true to me in every moment to the best of my ability is really important to me and this awareness is growing. The word has to be exact otherwise it doesn’t feel right in my body and if I don’t get it, it’s ok as I learn to express. English wasn’t my thing at school but as I read and experiment with using different words in my expression my vocabulary like everything else in life if I choose it grows too.

  28. “if I played a game of Scrabble I wouldn’t win because I’d be too busy loving words, having fun, and making up a new game.” This is beautiful what you share here Gyl. The beauty of enjoying life and not competing with it.

  29. There is so much depth to words – how we express them and the context they are delivered in can determine how you feel when you hear and feel them.

  30. ‘I love the power of words and how they stand out. There is so much more being shared than just what we read or see.’ True Gyl, and words hold the energy of the quality they are written in that goes way beyond the meaning of the word.

  31. Beautiful Gyl, words can be very inspiring and there are definitely ‘right words’ when we are expressing, not by virtue of rules about what or how to say something, but because they encapsulate the fullest sense of meaning for what is being shared.

  32. There are moments in life when you can read something and just feel that the words used have been stunted or reduced in some way, that the person has held back from putting the words on paper of what they truly wanted to say. Maybe allowing ‘polite’ and ‘nice’ to get in the way.

  33. I love words too Gyl, always have, and for all the reasons you describe. Numbers, on the other hand I’ve been less at home with, but I’m learning to appreciate them more and more for their simplicity and symbolism. When I consider the binary code used by computer boffins, a system in which everything can be reduced to sequences of 0s and 1s, I marvel at the reflection of that.

  34. When words are truly expressed, they can be felt deeply in the body, and what is conveyed in those words can be felt by another. There is great power in words when they are used in their truth.

  35. “not the words themselves, but the action they are calling for” This realisation brings a word to life as it becomes more than the combination of letters but a connection to the movement within our body.

  36. If we were to truly understand the power of words we would speak less and action more because every time we speak we are being offered an opportunity to live the truth of the words spoken, for example instead of simply saying the words “I love you” we have an opportunity to live those words in full.

Leave a Reply

