An inspiring meal with two inspiring young women

by Anna Karam, Goonellabah, Australia

I was recently inspired by two young women who came to my home for dinner. What inspired me so much was that when I was their age, I was so lost and unsure of myself, and had already changed so much in order to be liked and accepted, that I had become a product of what I thought the world wanted or needed me to be.

When my guests arrived I couldn’t help but see and feel how natural these young women were in my home, so playful and loving; there was no big noting of themselves, no competition, no gossip or drama (as I remember it myself at that age), but rather I could feel them so content in themselves; it was so freeing for me to feel this.

The conversations were very simple and loving. Mostly we just talked about life and people and they shared how they are at work, what they find challenging and what is more simple. All of this shared without an ounce of arrogance, but rather just a beautiful, humble honesty.

The simplicity I felt was beyond beautiful.

I feel so inspired by these young women who are so steady in who they are and so loving with themselves and the way they approach life. It has given me a new appreciation of how powerful and truly healing it can be to really allow ourselves to be inspired by others.

Thank you to these two gorgeous young women: may you forever cherish yourselves and continue to reflect this out to the world.

134 thoughts on “An inspiring meal with two inspiring young women

  1. Anna,
    In your writing about your experience of being in the company of others who truly honour and love themselves, I feel the steadiness and simplicity of conversation, how life is simply talked about, but not attacked or demeaned, seen as a burden or something to escape. That life simply is and there is joy in living it.

  2. I had a similar experience this week Anna when I went for a walk with a younger woman who completely put a whole situation, that had been playing on me for days, into perspective. Every step and every word she expressed was full of understanding, wisdom and grace that I was completely inspired by… I could hardly talk but nod and say YES that’s it! The beauty is, is that when we are detached and observing life without getting caught up in it or reacting, we can all offer that steadiness and stability.

  3. Being oneself, transparent, open and sharing is powerful and inspirational, whether one is young, elderly or in fact any age.

  4. This is very profound Anna as what you have shared through this experience is the power we all have to inspire each other, regardless of age or gender. You have highlighted how truth lived is not determined by age nor is wisdom, and the more we appreciate and honor the wisdom that resides within every single one of us, the more true equality will be lived in this world. As we then confirm the truth of who we are, and inspire and empower each other to live this truth through our every day, with everyone.

  5. Such a simple sharing of appreciation and one I am so touched by as I feel it speaks volumes about how we can calibrate to fit into the world and do ourselves enormous harm.

  6. It is such a joy to be inspired by the simple presence of others who are just sharing from an open and honest heart. I feel and love the divine power of simplicity.

  7. “It has given me a new appreciation of how powerful and truly healing it can be to really allow ourselves to be inspired by others.” I find this to be so more and more. In the past I would have been shrivelled up by jealousy or comparison, but since I have been exchanging this for inspiration and appreciation, I have felt myself to be equal to others and even though they may have mastered something I am yet to master I do not compare – I appreciate what they bring and allow myself to accept the inspiration being offered.

  8. It is gorgeous to be inspired by things that although out of the norm, don’t have to be… sadly we have created the norm that does not serve us. The power of knowing who you are has no bounds in its ability to heal or inspire and it is beautiful when life reminds us of that.

  9. Just being ourselves is all that is needed, as you so aptly describe. And it is simple – we have just put a lot of complications, ideals and beliefs on top of that simplicity and directness.

  10. I am being deeply inspired by the children and young people of the universal Medicine Student Body. They are extraordinary in that they are simply being themselves. Hugely powerful.

Leave a Reply

