I could always feel there was more to life

by Nicole Serafin, Dietician, Nutritionist, Tintenbar, Australia

I knew for myself from a very young age that something was not right. It always felt like something was missing but I could never quite put my finger on it. I tried to seek answers from my peers but they didn’t know how to respond to my questions. At school I would ask the teachers “why are things the way they are?”… I usually got told “this is just the way that it is”. If ever I hit a nerve, or got too close to home, I would be sent to my room or told to sit out of class. I could sense as a child that what I was asking was important, however it seemed to annoy the adults and others around me.

Why is it that we can let life be so full of pain, discomfort and disarray and yet not seem to want to do anything about it?

I did not understand, and as a young child my confusion and frustration only grew the older I got. I was never part of, or followed, any form of religion or spirituality; all of that felt way too ‘off the mark’ for me. I went on through my life with the possibility that there had to be more; what kept me going was the hope that one day things would be different. But until then I was just like everyone else, going along with the rest of society in the craziness and busy-ness of life. This craziness & busy-ness was enough to keep me from pondering on the fact that there had to be more. Occasionally, usually when things were not going so well, I would stop and rethink my life and how it was being lived. An illness or a moment that was not pleasant became the only thing that could make me slow down enough to remember that feeling of knowing that there had to be another way. That feeling was never lost, only temporarily buried under the piles of other stuff that I had not wanted to deal with in my life.

It became a common pattern; I became ill… and if it were not for that and the choices I then made I would still be on the treadmill of a life full of distractions – a life where I would put aside my true feelings and just ‘get on with it’ (even though this did not feel right, everyone else was doing it and there didn’t seem to be any other option).

I have come to realise however that I (as well as others) always have the ability to choose how I want to live; my life does not have to be full of that busy-ness and ‘craziness’ which is all just a way to avoid the feeling that I miss being with myself and listening to my true feelings. We all have the ability to be who we truly are and yet the world is geared up to stop us from being just that. We are not taught to be who we are and to contribute to society in a way that is going to be supportive, loving and true to what is needed as a whole. Little of what we are told at school teaches or allows us to be who we really are –we are all conditioned from the very beginning to be what is wanted and expected from us.

For me, Universal Medicine allowed the opportunity to connect to who I truly am, to be able to stop and feel those questions that I have always had but never bothered to go any further with.

I appreciate the fact that UniMed presents practical tools to support me to connect to that feeling of knowing that there is another way.

I have attended many workshops and presentations held by UniMed and never have I been told what to do or how to live; they have only ever shared another way of being, one that I have chosen to gradually incorporate into my life at the pace and in the way that I have felt it needed to be done.

I have always been free to come and go as I please with no judgment or expectation, only ever feeling amazing support and inspiration. I have been inspired to continue making changes in my life because of how I feel when these changes are made.

I began slowly changing my diet, feeling lighter, less bloated and more energised. Then I looked at my sleep pattern which for me was the next natural step. Why, if I had more energy, would I want to ruin that by late nights, often fuelled by an alcoholic drink? So I began to cut out alcohol and started going to bed earlier, which just contributed to me feeling even more energised and amazing – this started to feel ‘normal’.

I had completed training in dietetics and nutrition and the changes that I was making made sense; they were not a fleeting or radical claim being made by Universal Medicine but something that actually made a substantial difference to my wellbeing. For instance, I knew that dairy products had been linked to sinus & congestion issues, as well as gluten creating a whole other realm of issues in the body; so for me, not only from a clinical perspective but also a commonsense point of view, it made sense.

Just by a few small adjustments and changes in my life I was able to feel a huge difference – a difference that I was not willing to compromise for anyone or anything.

I started to honour my body and felt an amazing feeling of openness and willingness to look at whatever life sent my way, without the reaction of ‘why me?’

Why is it we are not taught at school that those feelings that we have are there for a reason and that they need to be honoured and not pushed aside or buried? We need to nurture our true potential – to trust that we are enough and that when we listen to our body it has the ability to tell us what is needed in every moment.

Making choices from what I felt to be true in my body has changed my lifestyle and brought a feeling of wellbeing that I did not have in the past. From this I have slowly addressed all aspects of my life, from self-care and expression to relationships; feeling what has been needed and making the appropriate changes from there. I am grateful to Universal Medicine for all they have shared with me and many others, and can honestly say that for me it has been a life changing experience; not because of what they have told me to do, but because of what I have chosen to do. It has been a slow and ongoing unfolding; as one thing leads to another and as my awareness of my body and what it needs grows – so too do my choices.

120 thoughts on “I could always feel there was more to life

  1. As an adult, there is so much to see that is not of love, and as a child this seeing is even more acute. The pain of this is great too and it is perhaps what causes many of us to seek shelter, to withdraw and to find solace. It is therefore at times something of a big ask to ask ourselves to be open and aware, to see it all – everything that is not love. And what is monumental again is to trust that in this seeing we are in fact way more protected than when we retreat and hide. And so awareness shows itself to be by its very nature, a fantastic support through life.

  2. It is because we are choosing and not being told what to do that makes this process so empowering even when we make choices that turn out not to be so great there is always a great learning and an expanding of our awareness.

  3. Looking at the world, no matter how ‘happy’ and ‘comfortable’ some claim their life to be, there seems to be this undercurrent of unsettlement in all of us – that we know this is not quite it, yet mostly are living with given-up-ness. What Universal Medicine offers is a true medicine, not a cure, very practical and simple and relevant and it is for entire humanity to connect back to the truth of what is and who we are.

  4. ‘I started to honour my body and felt an amazing feeling of openness and willingness to look at whatever life sent my way, without the reaction of ‘why me?’ Awesome to feel your unfolding back to your innate knowingness and the choices that support you in this.

  5. It is interesting how we use the expressions right and wrong as in “I knew for myself from a very young age that something was not right”, or “I knew for myself from a very young age that something was wrong” or “it felt right from the beginning” to denote true or un-true. And, yet, right and wrong and true and un-true play in different games.

  6. It’s as though the world is set up for us not to question the possibility that there is more – we get shut down for asking and we treat our bodies in a way that also shut down the questioning or the knowing. But thankfully it can’t be shut down in full as we are divine, we do not come from Earth and there is so much more beyond this world. Because that is who we are, there is a spark that lies within ever-ready to be ignited and shine brightly.

Leave a Reply

