We Need to Honor a New ‘Normal’

by Susannah Williams, Somerset, UK

Even though I’m only 12 years old, there is so much going on at school. Quite a lot of the girls in my year are already smoking, some are coming to school with hangovers and bragging about how much they drunk last night and how their mum bought them as much alcohol as they wanted for their birthday party. I wouldn’t have been calling any of this stuff ‘abnormal’ if it hadn’t been for me attending Universal Medicine presentations – I would probably be doing it too!

I’m called ‘weird’ at school but what I see are kids not knowing what they are doing and not being bothered to stop for a second and say “hey, maybe I don’t need to swear in this sentence, maybe I should see what that feels like.” Or “before I agree to date this guy, what does he feel like to me, has he ever shown any interest in me before, or does he just want to go out with me because I’m single and he just wants a girlfriend whoever she is?”

There is so much need to have a girlfriend or a boyfriend at school, something to identify yourself with. Some relationships only last a couple of days, sometimes even a few hours! If a boy asks me out and I say no, everyone is so shocked by it, usually girls go out with whoever they can.

It’s great having all the other teens connected to UniMed to share with. I love keeping in contact with my friends from Australia as well, they are a great support and it’s very interesting to hear what they are experiencing in their schools as well.

Meeting Serge has made an enormous impact on my life. If I hadn’t met him I would be lost in all of this and would probably be fitting in to the so called ‘normal’ crowd in society.

We need to start replacing that ‘normal’ with a true, joy-full and glorious way of living.

366 thoughts on “We Need to Honor a New ‘Normal’

  1. A great sharing on trusting what you feel and moving from this knowing. What a great inspiration you are Susannah as many teens and children these days are faced with so many temptations and ways of being that are considered part of the teenage rite of passage but does it truly feel supportive for their bodies. Trusting what you feel and going with that is fantastic and offers others a new way to see and feel the world too.

  2. Yes well said Susannah, we need to start replacing that ‘normal’ that is actually not normal at all. Drinking at 12 is a clear sign of not coping. I feel we have so much to be honest about as a community that we really need to change the conversation from distraction to bringing a deeper level of love and care into our own homes.

  3. If normal means 12 year-olds smoking and drinking, then you are spot on Susannah – we need to redefine what normal is. My suspicion is that there are many who are much younger smoking and drinking too – and maybe doing other things too. We need to understand what these young people are expressing when they do such things and what is missing from their lives that they have to choose such destructive practices. Then maybe we can support them to find what seems to be missing rather than use these ways.

  4. How desensitized have we become if these choices are considered normal in 12 year olds? It was all around back in my teens (many moons) ago but wasn’t considered ‘normal’, therefore not done to the extent and breadth it is now. However the responsibility is still with us all for going along with any harmful behaviour at any time allowing a consciousness of it’s ‘normal’ to take hold.

Leave a Reply

