Happy to not be your ‘average’ teenager

by Rebecca, Australia

I have known Serge Benhayon since I was 9. My mum was searching through alternative medicine when western medicine’s only solution to her back troubles was a major operation. Everything she tried out she would asked if I wanted to come along. I was more interested in playing in the woods. But when her practitioner recommended going to see Serge I decided to take up the offer to have a session. I arrived with my teddy bear and had the best conversation ever, from a kids point of view Serge talked to me like no adult, not even my mum, had ever talked. From there I started attending courses and found in Serge something I hadn’t found anywhere, something I could trust.

Now at the age of 15 I don’t drink, do drugs, and hold on to your hats, I go to bed early and Universal Medicine has given me the confidence to stand by those choices. I don’t fit the typical teenager stereotype but to me that’s a good thing.

When I look around at school I see so much that most adults don’t realise is happening. The age for sex has dropped to around 9 and drinking, smoking and doing drugs is no longer what the cool kids do but what is expected. There is pressure to conform to do the things that the majority are doing. And what the majority are doing is sleeping around and bragging about the fact they smoked so much weed they are sick. Girls are going into relationships that are abusive and not based on love.

At the courses I am in a place I know holds no expectations of me and supports me in MY decision not to participate in the goings on at school. At school my friends know about the fact I am an esoteric student and totally accept it. I have never spoken about it unless asked and have never asked them to attend.

Living to the best of my ability esoterically on a daily basis has changed my life, for the better. Without Serge’s teachings showing me that to ‘be myself’ is enough, I would have conformed to the typical teenage stereotype. To me, going to bed early is the least drastic life choice of the two.

183 thoughts on “Happy to not be your ‘average’ teenager

  1. Truth is felt at every age and to have met and connected to truth like you did at such a young age Rebecca shows that it always comes down to the fact that we can choose to connect to truth and live it or not. Beautiful to feel and read how you have trusted what is true for you and are now living that to the full.

    1. Jade what you say is very true, we can choose to connect to the truth or not, that’s what is so refreshing about Serge Benhayon he doesn’t preach, he presents the facts and it’s up to us what we do with the information given. For me I have listened to what he has had to say, it made sense to me so I tried it and it has worked. I live a life now that is unrecognizable to the one I was living 9 years ago. And the proof is that work colleagues, family and friends adore me they say I don’t know what your doing but what ever it is carry on, you look fabulous feel amazing and we love it. My family especially are very supportive as they know my life history and are amazed at the changes in me. And it all boiled down to Serge Benhayon and a choice.

  2. Rebecca what an inspiration you must be to your friends. A young women, standing strong among the rough weather that blows around you. I could only imagine how it must have felt to have meet Serge at such an age. To have your inner self confirmed from an adult who held you as equal regardless of your age. A moment in time that you said yes to and from then on the direction of your life changed towards love. Thanks for sharing

    1. Spot on kimweston2. What an experience for a child and importantly, what a profound and defining way to set the foundation for all the subsequent years! Rebecca – what a powerhouse you are! I’m sure that all the way along you have had pressure to conform but clearly you are strong enough to stay solid in your relationship with yourself and what you know is the real deal. Thank you for the inspiration!

    1. I second that Luke! Rebecca’s example is one that needs to become the norm and not the exception, and when it does, the world will be a much different place as a result.

  3. Rebecca I love reading your story. It’s beautiful to read about the choices you are making and how you are able to observe what is going on and recognise easily what is or is not loving. While schools are busy educating kids about facts kids are destroying their own lives with loveless choices. Schools should focus on the things that you live from now, self worth and self love and then teach facts. What use is all this information schooled into students when the kids are living such self degrading lives? None of this makes sense.

    1. Well said Melinda, I was chatting to a parent the other day that had sent their daughter into a school because of the fantastic Music dept they had. None of her friends went to this school so it was a complete change for her. The mother has discovered that her child is being bullied because she is not conforming to what is considered ‘normal’ by the other girls.
      Normal for the other girls is sleeping around, drugs, alcohol and parties. The mother found out because she noticed her daughter was getting a lot of messages on her phone so she looked and was horrified by the content of the text messages, she deleted them and then spoke to her daughter who confirmed that she was being bullied. As you say nothing makes sense perhaps if schools focused more on the care of children and less on the education, surely education comes second to the heath and welfare of the child. The mother I was talking to feels very isolated and doesn’t feel the school is being very being helpful or supportive.

    2. Great point Melinda, very well said. It definitely doesn’t make any sense to me either. The meaning of school I feel is now about achievements, results and memorising facts. It is only focused on preparing our children for one aspect of life, career. It is missing some major subjects like you said, teaching them about self-love, self-care, self-worth, self- nurture and connecting to themselves. We should really reassess our current education system. The problems young people are facing is screaming out for this change.

    3. I agree Melinda and Mary and Chanly88. You make great points here. ‘What use is all this information schooled into students when the kids are living such self degrading lives?’ It doesn’t make sense at all. Education going forward has to be about self care and building a foundation of self worth for how can any of us be our full potential in life without this as our basis?

    4. I met a young man from the Student body who is quite delightful, so easy to be around. He has a certain quality about him which can be felt, its as though he has managed to retain that gorgeous innocence of a little boy. Oh boy what a beautiful world we would live in if we encouraged our children to stay true to themselves and not give way and look for acceptance and recognition from parents and teachers alike.

  4. Absolutely loved reading your blog Rebecca – with love as such a solid foundation in your life you will continue to inspire your peers and all of those around you with a graceful authority of your life.

  5. Having sex at 9 years of age. Have they even hit puberty yet? Rebecca to know who you are and to hold yourself in a loving manner in an environment that has gone crazy, is absolutely amazing. By staying present around these young girls gives them light that there is a different way.

    1. That’s right Lindellparlour. Rebecca’s loving choices are inspiring others too. As I was reading her blog, I was feeling WOW, AMAZING and I was thinking of my children. How they will handle the pressures from school and what they will also be exposed to. Teaching our children how to stay connected to themselves and to not fall for these harmful expectations by living by example and reflecting back to them who we truly are.

  6. Rebecca, you will have offered all at your school a lasting inspiration that there is another way to live. That they don’t have to conform to the pressures of what they think is necessary to ‘fit in’. They can choose for themselves a more loving way to live.

  7. You are certainly not average Rebecca you are extraordinary! I know the transformational affect that making loving choices has had on my life since meeting Serge Benhayon in my late 20s. I can only wish it had been in my teens for the angst and drama that I could have easily avoided and the support I could have offered others through such an intense period of our lives. Thank you for holding what you know to be true and standing strong in that. You are amazing and an absolute inspiration to a generation deeply lost in the pressure of life and the abusive choices that come with that.

  8. I love your blog Rebecca. Your strength and wisdom is reflected in this blog. To not fall for the all the expectations you were exposed to is deeply inspiring for us all. Thank you!

  9. To read that drinking and taking drugs is now an expected norm for young children is a bit frightening. Young people are under so much pressure to not be themselves, to act like someone that they are not and craving to be seen. This is telling us a lot about what is going on is actually not normal at all. What are the adults reflecting to our children and how have we created this mess? Really, it’s time for us to reflect another way, to expose the harm in the illusions we are all surrounded in and pressure to live by. Your blog Rebecca shows us that there is another way.

  10. It occurred to me Rebecca that your friends at school totally accepted you were an esoteric student because they knew you and felt who you were and that whatever you were doing was natural. Yet you are going through life at such a relatively young age with such maturity and your eyes wide open. This is a gift to all whom you share your way forth with.

  11. Truly an inspiration Rebecca. To know there are some young people who are not allowing themselves to get caught up in the shocking goings on at schools today. With the pressure on young people to conform to what is termed the thing to do to fit in, it must also be so hard for Parents to stand by helplessly or worse still unaware of what is going on!. May your example be inspiring to other young girls to understand they do not have to be pressured to participate in activities that are seriously detrimental to their health and their wellbeing ! I also applaud your stand and your absolute wisdom that you are sharing!

  12. It is awesome to know how powerful choices can be. It is lovely to read how, even with the way the world is, you are making your own way. There are many people who find this so difficult all their lives so to be solid in the knowing that you can be full of you at a young age is very beautiful.

  13. This is beautiful to read Rebecca, how you as a teenager can feel trust, confidence and regard for yourself to be able stay true to yourself and not conform like the majority of teenagers do to peer pressure. Truly inspiring also for your fellow students showing there is another more joyful way of being.

  14. Love it Rebecca! The world needs more living examples and reflections like yourself of teenagers who are not conforming to the ‘norm’ in order to fit in (or not fit in by rebelling in defiance), be identified etc but who have relearned to connect to what is truly normal – which is simply being and self-caring for ‘you’. By having this as a foundation, it not only supports the individual but everyone else at the same time – ‘this’ is what is ‘truly’ normal!

  15. How awesome Rebecca and what incredible choices you have been making. I didn’t clean up my act until 6 years ago and I often wonder how wonderful my life would have been had I woken up to myself earlier. Beautifully I can absolutely accept all I have chosen up until this point as it has all led me back to the truth in one way or another.

  16. When I read your text Rebecca I realise that most of us adults have no clue of what is going in for children at school. Maybe it’s time that parents really ask and dig deeper into what environment their children are facing every day.

  17. When I was 9 years-old I knew nothing about sex, drugs or alcohol. What is happening to our world and what is happening to our children? Thank you for sharing this Rebecca and for being the beacon that says, there is another way. Young people like you are so deeply needed in this world.

  18. ‘To be myself is enough’ – such a powerful and self-loving awareness. Earlier this week I was at a work meeting hosted in a church function room. During a break I took at look at some of the literature being offered to visitors there. Being holiday time here in the UK, there was a magazine suggesting a summer camp called ‘Be Good At Being Yourself’ course and it was all about singing, dancing and acting classes which left me wondering what we think being ourselves is about. Do we need to ‘perform’ to be ourselves or is it much more simple than this? Is it more about self-acceptance and self-love and from there, allowing who we are to shine in the world?

  19. ‘I don’t fit the typical teenager stereotype but to me that’s a good thing’ – This is definitely a good thing and you are showing what I call true courage, what it takes to go against the trend, the norm and the every day, to live in a true and loving way. You are role modelling to your peers and offering them a choice that they may one day come back to having felt it in you.

  20. It’s crazy isn’t it Rebecca, we balk at the idea of a teenager going to bed early because it is not seen as the norm, while meanwhile we turn a blind eye to the drugs and sex many teenagers feel pressured into, which is what is sadly becoming ‘the norm’. What is common is rarely what is normal. Our true normal is love and thus our expression of it. All other behaviours are simply a deviation from this.

  21. I can’t really imagine how it is to be a kid and teenager today. What I hear from you Rebecca and others is shocking me. As I was on a class reunion after 30 years of not seeing anyone of them, we looked at many old photographs while at the event. What I saw was – beside the official ones taken for the photo album – on nearly every photo beer and cigarettes in our hands. And we were 14/15/16 years old. This was more or less tolerated by parents and teachers. And now we met again and what did everyone do? Drink alcohol. As I did order my water I did get a few dump comments, just a few respected my choice and did not take it as a ‘killjoy’ (in fact my life is more joyful than ever before and I am not just willing but enthusiastic to share it!). I am so glad to see some teenagers like you Rebecca grow up with the inspiration by people who live an integer and lovingly life, who meet you for who you are and show you that there is another way to live. I am on my way to live my life like that as well and so guarantee an inspiration on earth that is healthy and reflecting our true worth and preciousness.

  22. The things I hear about what teenagers face today shock me and if I am honest one of the reasons for not having children this lifetime was about the world I would be bringing them into, though arguably its good to provide the opportunity I know. The thing is – how did we get to a time that such great healthy choices as yours Rebecca stand out as the extreme because the extremes of my day have become the norm?
    Good on you for holding steady in your own choices, and I understand from my own experiences that being around such loving people at Universal Medicine helps us to hold steady in our choices and feel a new normal growing again in the world.

  23. True courage Rebecca. It can’t be easy, but this way of living certainly pays off in terms of wellbeing, quality of relationships and contentment with ourselves. I’d say that is a rarity, not just with someone who is 15 but also everyone of every age.

    1. I agree Jennifer it is ‘true courage’ to go against the current trends, as it can be very challenging initially in many ways. Yet when we do connect to and live our truth is becomes very clear that there is no other way to be, as we discover that our greatest strength is being and living in connection to the love we are within.

  24. I remember school feeling like a pressure cooker! It seems the heat just keeps getting turned up with the level of abuse and conformity happening in more recent times. The pressure to fit in and do what everyone else is doing or you get bullied and isolated or excluded. It’s absolutely revolutionary to hear a teenager talk about herself in the way you do Rebecca, and knowing that being yourself and being that point of difference is actually what is needed.

  25. Rebecca it is very beautiful to feel your steadiness and the confidence in who you are at the age you wrote this. I have not met you in person but know you from your writing and as such have witnessed and can confirm that you have continued to live in connection to what you feel and know is true and have only grown beautifully in confidence, knowing and sharing the wisdom you hold within. You truly are a role model not only for young girls, to know that being who we are and respecting and themselves is far more loving, honoring and fulfilling than trying to ‘fit in’ to the pressures of self-abuse that surround them, but for all women to know that who we are within is far greater than any picture that we try to fit ourselves into. Thank you Rebecca for being YOU.

  26. When I was first introduced to Serge Benhayon and Universal Medicine I wanted to tell everyone because I had felt something that touched me deeply and I thought that every one else would want to know but that wasn’t the case. I have come to realise that I don’t need to say anything as it the way in which I am with myself and live my life that makes a difference.

  27. Yes it’s good to have someone around you showing that we don’t have to do what everyone else is doing, that we can actually do all those things we really feel like, like going to bed early and looking after ourselves rather than doing the silly things that will trash our sweet and tender body.

  28. Loved what you have shared Rebecca, so beautiful for you to attend Serge’s presentations and make the self loving choices in your young life, what powerful reflection you are giving to your friends and peers . It is not always easy to stand alone and be different from the current flow, but you have the courage to stand for your truth.

  29. Super-big congratulations Rebecca on having made such wonderful choices at such a young age. Far, far better than making them at 40, which is when I started my journey to back self-love – thanks also to Serge Benhayon. It’s way less taxing on the body, and it frees us up to live a life of purpose and commitment rather than self-abuse and suffering.

  30. What makes sense to one person does not always make sense to another. But the fact is we all have a right to choose what we do in our own everyday lives, and even if we wouldn’t make those particular choices ourselves, we have to respect everyone’s right to choose.

  31. If we were all taught that just being ourselves is enough I am sure the world of today would be a very different place than what it is.

  32. The reality of kids growing up is not a pleasant and innocent one nowadays. This has a clear impact on them. This reality also talks to another reality: adults not being able to realise what is going on to the kids and hence not being able to connect to them and offer a way out from it. Two realities that feed each other.. until someone offers a reflection that helps to break this game of mirrors in pieces. That person’s name is Serge Benhayon and all that align to his presentations thereafter.

  33. Being an esoteric student is fulfilling in your body where the choice to have sex or do drugs is dissolved. The needs cease and your commitment builds to expanding that feeling of love inside you. Going to bed early is just one of the pleasures of life.

  34. It is truly extraordinary that just from showing you that being yourself is enough you have not allowed yourself to fall into the typical teenage stereotype. This is something that any teenage would benefit from for it seems it is the lack of knowing this that allows them to seek everywhere but within themselves for some kind of relief from the tension of teenagehood.

  35. To witness you and other young adults who have grown up with the guidance and support of Serge Benhayon and Universal Medicine leaves no doubt that what is presented is the Truth.

  36. Great blog Rebecca, really lovely to read your words and so beautiful to feel the depth of understanding you have about the choices teenagers make, and at the same time not allowing peer pressure to change the loving supportive choices you make for yourself.

  37. When I see teenagers these days I say a little thank you that I was brought up in a different era. I was a teenager in the 1960s and sure there was the usual angst etc but compared with what teenagers have to deal with these days, it was a breeze.

  38. Rebecca it’s been a while since I first read your blog but it struck me again how little we truly care for students when education is about passing exams, even though a student’s self worth is so low they engage in self destructive behaviours and put their health and wellbeing at risk. And when students collectively do this and bully those who don’t then something is very, very wrong. We have allowed the abnormal to become normal to the point where children bully other children to self destruct – and the education system continues to focus on the accumulation of facts. Children are literally screaming out to be taught their worth, and we are failing kids miserably by not making who they are and how they feel about themselves more important than what they know. We need to redefine teaching and education, and what’s truly important in life. Sure parents have a responsibility here, but it’s not correct for schools to ignore such rampant self abuse and abuse of others when they could have an immense and positive impact on the wellbeing of students. Kids are calling out for a different approach and schools could meet this.

  39. I wonder what we would have to make up to not listen to all this article is saying. In a world that sees this as normal, “When I look around at school I see so much that most adults don’t realise is happening. The age for sex has dropped to around 9 and drinking, smoking and doing drugs is no longer what the cool kids do but what is expected” and then questions an article like this? We would have to be upside down, wouldn’t we? I would much rather see a young woman taking care of herself and respecting herself as described in this article than being anywhere near ‘normal’. It would have to have us all shaking our heads, we have a major problem in our youth, we discuss it, talk about it, concern and worry about it, feel powerless to support or stop it and yet when something comes along that not only supports us to see but supports greatly those in the middle of our current ‘norm’, we reject it?? It’s great to see young people like the author living something that has been right under our noses all the time and in fact it still is.

  40. Amazing! This is normal. How often do we excuse someone’s behaviour simply because of their age, always comforting another with ‘they’ll grow out of it’. But do they? Do people grow out of a lack of self responsibility, or does it simply start to play out in different ways? Once aware of this, it doesn’t take long to see how without any true understanding of who we are, we lead ourselves down a self destructive garden path. It’s rebellious to go against the grain, and what you’ve shared here Rebecca is rebellion for the better!

  41. ‘When I look around at school I see so much that most adults don’t realise is happening’. If we have closed our eyes to what kids are doing in school, what have our eyes closed to in our homes, workplaces and world around us? Collectively we all need to open our eyes and wake up to the reality of the harmful way we are living our everyday and how the harmful choices we are making are not only affecting our own bodies, but the world around us equally so.

Leave a Reply

