Is Serge Benhayon a ‘Cult Leader’?

by Lee Green, Australia

The word ‘cult’ was incorrectly used in the article by Heath Aston titled ‘Cult’ Cures on Medicare, published in The Sydney Morning Herald, 22nd July 2012.  With any event, presentation or healing associated with Serge Benhayon and Universal Medicine, I walk in of my own free-will, I pay my own money and I leave with the opportunity to choose for myself what I have heard or not. Simple.

For me the following questions must be asked to assess whether Universal Medicine is a cult.

  • Is Serge Benhayon a ‘cult leader’?
  • Is there a compound that Universal Medicine operates from?
  • Do I send a large amount of my income to support Serge’s lifestyle and compound upkeep?
  • Am I required to ‘get new followers to support the cause’?

The answer to all the above is No.

I have grown up in a time where the word ‘cult’ is about brainwashing, taking away another’s rights, kidnapping, influence over others, violence and deaths associated with groups. This prompts me to ask whose ‘cult’ are we living in when alcohol, drug abuse, violence against women and children, women being trafficked for sex, paedophilia within one of the world’s largest organisations and much, much more goes on in addition to the soaring health issues facing individuals.

Serge has simply asked whether there is the possibility that we are not living to our fullest. With illness and disease on the increase, not to mention the lack of connection people feel to others on a daily basis, is it such a silly question? Without imposition, Serge Benhayon simply presents the possibility that there is more, much more perhaps, to who we are and how we can live.

Spara

Spara

285 thoughts on “Is Serge Benhayon a ‘Cult Leader’?

  1. Lee – A great call on the truth of the use of the word ‘cult’ in relationship to Serge Benhayon – Students of the Way of The Livingness are taking responsibility and care of themselves to not continuing the ‘cult’ relationship you describe with abusive and harming distractions as the majority of the world are.
    “This prompts me to ask whose ‘cult’ are we living in when alcohol, drug abuse, violence against women and children, women being trafficked for sex, paedophilia within one of the world’s largest organisations and much, much more goes on in addition to the soaring health issues facing individuals”.

  2. Is Serge Benhayon a cult leader, I am absolutely positively certain not. A beautiful reminder Lee to not be distracted by the false and misleading energy that constantly comes our way. Thank you for the simple yet powerful expressing of who Serge Benhayon is and who he is not.

  3. The big question for me is “what is a cult?” It seems these days that you can twist the meaning of any word to mean the polar opposite to its previous meaning and this is what has happened with the word cult. We are all so careless with our use of words and easily manipulated by the media and this has led to an absence of truth in life.

  4. To label Serge Benhayon as the leader of a cult is not just false in itself, but also a deliberate attempt to reduce what Serge is here to do and to confine, limit, any exchange on him so no one can connect to the bigger picture. Very insidious.

  5. Serge Benhayon is a leader, without a doubt, of how we all can live in connection to our Soul and as such with the Divine, with God. The culture of God and our Godliness has never been so alive and through the religion The Way of The Livingness we have the opportunity to explore living this way for ourselves. This I claim to be part of with all that I am, for I now know that living less than this is existing in the cult of reductionism that has got us to the state of turmoil of where we are today as a humanity. And existing in this cult is far from living who we truly are.

  6. Really depends on your definition of cult. A cult in its true meaning as defined by sociologists in the first part of the last century simply referred to a group of people whose religious viewpoint could not be tied to any mainstream religion, and were in a minority. From that point of view, Universal Medicine is unashamedly a cult. If, however, you take the modern and socially accepted version of a cult, which is characterised by abuse, including sexual abuse, and manipulating and brainwashing followers, then nothing could be further from the truth.

  7. Absolutely Lee I was thinking about this just the other day and how the stigma of that word is so effective in shutting down anything that is different to the cultural norms. I have several friends who have done level one healing and haven’t attended anything else, I have never asked them to go to anything else, it is absolutely about free will and that is honoured in every aspect of Universal Medicine.

  8. The use of the word cult applied to Universal Medicine in this way could not be further from the truth I agree Lee. In my long experience the organisation is exemplary in it’s conduct, offering a wide range of services to the community openly and transparently. Having spent 17 years learning, listening and receiving healing sessions of my own free will, I am living testimony to the fact that for just starters IT WORKS… I have never been healthier, more clear-headed, vital and hard working in my entire life, and I just keep getting better. Hardly the product of a dangerous cult methinks!

  9. Spot on Lee. The accusations, are of course all completely false. More recently I’ve been made aware of the cycle we are all stuck in when it comes to persecuting those that are willing to stand for truth. It’s basically a bi-product of choosing more love and not being afraid to tell it like it is. A sad state of affairs really. My experience of Universal Medicine has been nothing short of life changing, and certainly not in some over the top dramatic way where lights and glitter have fallen through fairy-floss clouds. The choices I make on a daily basis to support myself are remarkably different to what I used to choose when I had very little care or respect for myself.

  10. If asking myself to be more honest, more responsible, more caring, more loving in my life is a cult, what then is this world really asking for? A life of horror, complication, illness, disease, abuse and more? Have we really wandered so far as to agree that such a life is what we find normal, and so withdrawn to say that there is nothing we can do?

  11. Interesting how the media choose to label Serge Benhayon a ‘Cult leader’ totally untrue and far fetched, which goes to reflect the lack of understanding the media has in regard to Serge Benhayon and what he brings and offers to humanity as a whole.

  12. When there is no cult, there is no cult leader. When there is no cult, there are not followers. When there is no cult and yet what is not a cult is labelled a cult, what we have is simply a false statement issued under the intent of harm.

    1. Well said Eduardo, no cult, no followers only an intent to harm by sowing a seed of doubt in the mind of the observer. This is truly evil and it is time it was stopped.

  13. I agree Lee Serge Benhayon and Universal Medicine are the very antithesis of what we call a cult. It can’t get simpler than that. But what is interesting to me, is that the questions Serge poses about the link between our choices and health are conveniently side stepped and dismissed out of hand. Isn’t that interesting? I am yet to hear someone actually address what Serge presents, this in itself is to me very revealing.

  14. It is so cruel how the word cult has been mis-intepretated. . In truth Serge presents truth, there are no rule or roles to follow, it is our own choice what we choose to hear or not, do or not do, no one controls our movements but ourselves.

  15. It is so cruel how the word cult has been mis-intepretated. . In truth Serge presents truth, there is no rule or roles to follow, it is our own choice what we choose to hear or not, do or not do, no one controls our movements but ourselves.

  16. It is deeply saddening that the word cult has been used indiscriminately to describe Universal Medicine and Serge Benhayon. It is so far from the truth. To use such words freely is very damaging and all in the name of selling a story. What is the point of selling a story based on lies and who takes responsibility for that?

  17. “Serge has simply asked whether there is the possibility that we are not living to our fullest. With illness and disease on the increase, not to mention the lack of connection people feel to others on a daily basis, is it such a silly question? ” It is deeply saddening to hear how people would rather call a man a cult leader who is sharing that through love and truth one can connect to their own path of healing, yet they are happy for sex abusers and drug abusers to roaming around doing what they are doing.

    1. I agree Amita, it makes no sense whatsoever that Serge Benhayon should be vilified when he is willing to stand up and speak the truth about why it’s simply not working. We can all quite clearly see that the world is a mess be it with wars, illness and disease, natural disasters, financially etc., how far do things have to go before we wake up to honest conversations about the truth of what is really going on?

  18. Using the word ‘cult leader’ to describe Serge Benhayon is a mere distraction from the truth. There is absolutely nothing resembling a cult or cult leader, there are teachings that ask us to take responsibility for our lives, our choices and the way we live. Perhaps it is this that others react to because comfort and indulgence seem on the outside a more attractive option?

  19. ‘Do I send a large amount of my income to support Serge’s lifestyle and compound upkeep?’ The answer is NO. It is so wrong there have been criticisms that those attending Serge’s presentations or workshops ‘waste’ money. I do not feel I have ever wasted a penny on the wisdom I hear when I attend an event. Each one is completely different and full of gold. I also have to say that recently just 5 minutes with Serge Benhayon saved me an enormous amount of money as I felt empowered and clear in what was true and what was not. There was no doubt in my mind and therefore I did not need to be paying for expensive advice as it was clearly felt in my body.

Leave a Reply

